The Journal of Colloid and Interface Science publishes original research findings on fundamental principles of colloid and interface science, as well as conceptually novel applications of these in advanced materials, nanomedicine, energy, environmental technologies, catalysis, and related fields. Criteria for publication are impact, quality, novelty and originality.

The Journal of Colloid and Interface Science emphasizes fundamental scientific innovation within the following categories:

A. Colloidal Materials and Nanomaterials
B. Soft Colloidal and Self-Assembly Systems
C. Adsorption, Catalysis and Electrochemistry
D. Interfacial Processes, Capillarity and Wetting
E. Biomaterials and Nanomedicine
F. Energy Conversion and Storage, and Environmental Technologies

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • M. Malmsten
    Uppsala Universitet, Uppsala, Sweden

Managing Editor

  • A.T. Hubbard
    Santa Barbara, CA, USA


  • T.J. Bandosz
    City University of New York (CUNY), New York, New York, USA
  • D. Berti
    Università degli Studi di Firenze, Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
  • J. Eastoe
    University of Bristol, Bristol, UK
  • M.A. Lopez-Quintela
    Universidade de Santiago de Compostela, Santiago de Compostela, Spain
  • G.-Q.M. Lu
    University of Surrey, Guildford, UK
  • G. Zheng
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China

Advisory Board

  • Z. Adamczyk
    Krakow, Poland
  • P. Baglioni
    Sesto Fiorentino, Italy
  • B. Bhushan
    Powell, Ohio, USA
  • B. Boyd
    Parkville, Victoria, Australia
  • N. Chattopadhyay
    Kolkata, India
  • H.M. Cheng
    Shenyang, China
  • R. Dagastine
    Parkville, Victoria, Australia
  • L. Dai
    Tempe, Arizona, USA
  • P. Dowding
    Abingdon, Oxfordshire, UK
  • C.A. Dreiss
    London, UK
  • E.M. Furst
    Newark, Delaware, USA
  • V.M. Gun'ko
    Kiev, Ukraine
  • C. Hoppe
    Mar del Plata, Argentina
  • K.P. Johnston
    Austin, Texas, USA
  • P.V. Kamat
    Notre Dame, Indiana, USA
  • M. Kruk
    Staten Island, New York, USA
  • J. Lützenkirchen
    Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany
  • D.J. McClements
    Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
  • W. Parak
    Marburg, Germany
  • D. Petsev
    Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
  • C. Picart
    Grenoble, France
  • M. Rutland
    Stockholm, Sweden
  • K.J. Stebe
    Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
  • B.-L. Su
    Namur, Belgium
  • R.F. Tabor
    Clayton, Victoria, Australia
  • P. Tartaj
    Cantoblanco, Madrid, Spain
  • R.D. Tilton
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
  • I. Tucker
    Bebington, Wirral, UK
  • J. Walz
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
  • M. Wang
    Beijing, China
  • S.-B. Wang
    Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • E.J. Wanless
  • B. Yang
    Changchun, China
  • D. Y. Zhao
    Shanghai, China

Editor Emeritus

  • D.T. Wasan
    Chicago, Illinois, USA

Past Editors

  • V.K. La Mer
  • A.C. Zettlemoyer
  • M. Kerker
  • J.P. Kratohvil
  • H. Kunieda‡