The National Center for Defense Manufacturing and Machining (NCDMM)’s president and CEO, Ralph Resnick, who is also a founder of 3D printing institute America Makes, has been recently reelected to serve as a 2019 SME international director.

‘I look forward to sharing the responsibility of the ongoing growth and viability of this very large and esteemed professional society with my fellow international directors,’ said Resnick. ‘With members in 70 countries and a network of hundreds of chapters worldwide, SME influences more than half a million manufacturing engineers, executives, and practitioners annually.’

The other international directors are:

  • Winston F Erevelles, Professor of Engineering and Dean of the School of Science, Engineering, and Technology, St. Mary’s University
  • Vincent W Howell Sr, Corning Inc
  • Thomas R Kurfess, chief manufacturing officer, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Dean S Phillips, production enhancement engineer, LINK Systems
  • Steven R Schmid, professor, department of aerospace and mechanical engineering, University of Notre Dame
  • Rebecca R Taylor, senior vice president, The National Center for Manufacturing Sciences
  • Albert J Wavering, chief of the intelligent systems division (ISD) of the Engineering Laboratory, National Institute of Standards and Technology.

The SME has also recognized its 2018 Class of Fellows, who are selected once a year from among high achievers in industry, academia and government.

  • Satish TS Bukkapatnam, rockwell international professor, Texas A&M University
  • Frank W Gayle, deputy director, Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office, Office of Advanced Manufacturing, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • Jack Hu, J Reid and Polly Anderson professor of manufacturing and vice president for research, The University of Michigan
  • Bernhard Karpuschewski, professor and director, Leibniz IWT University of Bremen
  • Ming C Leu, Keith and Pat Bailey distinguished professor, Missouri University of Science and Technology
  • Hamid R Parsaei, professor, Texas A&M University
  • John D. Russell, technical director, Manufacturing and Industrial Technologies Division, Air Force Research Laboratory, Wright Patterson AFB, Ohio.

This story uses material from NCDMM, with editorial changes made by Materials Today. The views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of Elsevier.