The Additive Manufacturing Users Group (AMUG) has named the two recipients of its 3D printing scholarships. John Sorvillo will receive the Randy Stevens Scholarship, and Sean Dobson the Guy E Bourdeau Scholarship.

Sorvillo is a director at the Westwood Prep Academy at New Beginnings in Youngstown, Ohio), and has built programs that use 3D printing as a tool to help at-risk students that are in residential care at the academy.

Dobson is working towards a Ph D in material science at the University of Cincinnati and works for Vertex Manufacturing. According to CEO, Greg Morris, ‘the passion that Sean exhibits for this field of work on a daily basis is inspiring, even for those of us that share the same passion.’

This story uses material from the AMUG, with editorial changes made by Materials Today. The views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of Elsevier.