Professor Raymundo Arróyave - 2023 Acta Materialia Silver Medal
Professor Raymundo Arróyave - 2023 Acta Materialia Silver Medal

The recipient of the 2023 Acta Materialia Silver Medal is Professor Raymundo Arróyave, the Segers Family Dean’s Excellence Professor of Materials Science and Engineering. He is also a Presidential Impact Fellow and a Chancellor EDGES Fellow of the Texas A&M University and the Texas A&M University System, respectively. He holds joint courtesy appointments in the J. Mike Walker '66 Department of Mechanical Engineering and the Wm Michael Barnes '64 Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering.

Raymundo Arróyave received a B. Sc. Degree (1996) in Mechanical and Electrical Engineering from the Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (México), followed by a M. Sc. (2000) in Materials Science and Engineering and a Ph. D. (2004) in Materials Science from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. After a postdoctoral position at Penn State University, he joined the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Texas A&M University in 2006. In 2013, he became one of the founding faculty of the (then new) Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Texas A&M. He is a Full Professor since 2017.

Over the past two decades, Dr. Arróyave’s research interest has been in computational materials science with special focus on problems ultimately related to the thermodynamics and kinetics of materials. His group uses several computational tools across multiple length-scales, ranging from Density Functional Theory through Phase Field Modeling, and even Computational Fluid Dynamics in order to understand process-structure-property relationships in both structural and functional materials. Recently, he has focused a large portion of his efforts to develop simulation-driven and machine learning/artificial intelligence-assisted materials discovery and design. He currently leads several medium to large scale multi-institutional, multi-PI, multi-disciplinary efforts dedicated to the development of efficient frameworks for the rapid discovery of materials, focusing on performance under extreme conditions.

He has been recognized on several occasions for his contributions. He is an ASM Fellow (2020), a TMS Brimacombe Medalist (2019), a recipient of the NSF CAREER Award (2010). He and his co-authors have received numerous Best Paper Awards by several journals and peer-reviewed conferences. He was also selected to give an AIME-TMS Anniversary Keynote talk in 2021.

Dr. Arróyave is also an active member of the scientific community. He currently serves as Associate Editor of Materials Letters, Integrating Materials and Manufacturing Innovation and the Journal of Phase Equilibria and Diffusion. At TMS, he served as Chair of the Functional Materials Division, chair of the Technical Division Council as well as the Board of Directors. He was Chair of the Alloy Phase Diagram Committee at ASM International. He has co-/organized close to two dozen symposia and two major conferences and is the main organizer, since 2011 of the Computational Materials Science Summer School at Texas A&M University. He continues to serve on numerous technical and functional committees at both professional societies. He has also participated in several study reports on multi-scale computational materials science and workforce development for the Materials Genome Initiative. He currently serves in the Condensed Matter and Materials Research Committee of the National Academies of the United States of America. He also serves in other major committees at the national level.

Professor Arróyave will receive the 2023 Acta Materialia Silver Medal at the TMS Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA, March 19-23, 2023.