In late 2014, the White House announced the recipients of the 2014 Presidential Medal of Freedom—the highest civilian honor in the United States. Mildred Dresselhaus, member of Carbon’s Honary Advisory Board was awarded this honor for her accomplishments in condensed matter physics and carbon materials science.

This prestigious award tops the list of Millie’s many other accolades, which include the National Medal of Science (1990), the Kavli Prize in Nanoscience (2012), and the Enrico Fermi Award (2012). Read more by visiting her faculty page at MIT

Millie is congratulated for her outstanding life’s work as an accomplished scientist, for steadfast advocacy for women in science and engineering, and especially for her mentoring of young scientists who will continue to pave the way for innovation.

Visit Carbon's homepage here