Current Opinion in Solid State & Materials Science aims to provide a snapshot of the latest research and advances in materials science. Every year, in six issues, Current Opinion in Solid State & Materials Science publishes a series of reviews covering the most exciting and developing areas of materials science. Each issue contains 2-3 sections of reviews commissioned by international researchers who are experts in their fields. The result is a journal that gives the materials scientist the opportunity to keep informed of all the current developments in their own, and related, areas of research, ensuring the cross⊣fertilization of ideas across an increasingly interdisciplinary field.

Topics covered regularly include: Electronic Materials, Solid Catalysts and Porous Solids, Synthesis and Reactivity of Solids, Optical and Magnetic Materials, Metals and Alloys, Biomaterials, Characterization Techniques, Amorphous Materials, Molecular Crystals, Surface Science, Ceramics, Composites and Intergrowths, Modelling and Simulation of Solids, Polymers. Special issues containing 'one-off' sections on other important areas will also appear.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • Professor Paul V. Braun
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • Dr. Ian Robertson
    University of Wisconsin-Madison, Wisconsin, USA
  • Professor Izabela Szlufarska
    University of Wisconsin at Madison, Wisconsin, USA

Founding Editor

  • J.M. Thomas
    University of Cambridge, Cambridge, UK

Editorial Board

  • James J. Coleman
    University of Texas at Dallas, USA
  • George Crabtree
    Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, USA
  • Vincent Crespi
    Penn State University, Pennsylvania, USA
  • Juan De Pablo
    University of Wisconsin at Madison, Madison, Wisconsin, USA
  • Vinayak Dravid
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA
  • Andrew Gewirth
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, USA
  • Steve Granick
    IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter, South Korea
  • Jeffrey C. Grossman
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Massachusetts, USA
  • Craig Hawker
    University of California at Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, California, USA
  • Yonggang Huang
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA
  • Craig Jensen
    University of Hawaii at Mãnoa, Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
  • Dorte Juul Jensen
    Risø National Laboratory - Technical University of Denmark (DTU), Roskilde, Denmark
  • Kevin S. Jones
    University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida, USA
  • Richard Le Sar
    Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, USA
  • David McComb
    Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, USA
  • Serdar Ogut
    University of Illinois at Chicago, Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • Monica Olvera de la Cruz
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA
  • Elsa Reichmanis
    Georgia Tech, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Angus Rockett
    Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado, USA
  • Susan Sinnott
    Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • Francesco Stellaci
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
  • Eric Wachsman
    University of Maryland, Baltimore, Maryland, USA
  • Brian Wirth
    University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
  • Yihui Zhang
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Steven J. Zinkle
    University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, USA