Materials Today is the flagship journal of the Materials Today family and is dedicated to covering the most innovative, cutting edge and influential work of broad interest to the materials science community.

Having established the journal as one of the most highly respected sources of news and reviews in materials science over the last two decades, Materials Today has recently expanded its scope to cover ground breaking original research in materials science, and aims to become a leading forum in the field.

The editors now welcome comprehensive articles and short communications reporting breakthrough discoveries and major technical achievements as well as review articles from established leaders in engaging and rapidly developing fields within materials science and related disciplines.

Materials Today offers authors rigorous peer review, rapid publication, and maximum visibility. The journal expects to accept only the most significant submitted manuscripts, but will provide very rapid evaluation to prevent publication delays. For content published from 2017, the journal will become a hybrid open access and subscription title.

Visit the journal homepage to submit your article or contact the Editors.


The growing Materials Today family provides authors and readers with comprehensive coverage across materials science, spanning ground breaking discoveries to highly specialized research; including such journals as Applied Materials Today, Materials Today Energy, and Materials Today Chemistry - in addition to the dedicated proceedings journal Materials Today: Proceedings, and sound science publication Materials Today Communications.

Editorial board


  • J. Lou
    Dept. of Materials Science and NanoEngineering, Rice University, 6100 Main MS-325, P.O. Box 1892, Houston, Texas, 77005-1827, USA
  • G. Yushin
    School of Materials Science & Engineering, Georgia Institute of Technology, 500 10th Street NW, Atlanta, Georgia, GA 30332, USA

Managing Editor

  • Y. Lu
    City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • F. Wu
    Central South University, Changsha, China

Associate Editor

  • Suwan Jayasinghe
    Dept. of Mechanical Engineering, University College London (UCL), London, UK

Editorial Board

  • Caroline Baillie
    Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada
  • Oleg Borodin
    U.S. Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, Maryland, USA
  • Alejandro Lopez Briseno
    Univ of Mass at Amherst, Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
  • Miaofang Chi
  • Rute Ferreira
  • Yanfei Gao
    University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
  • Alan Heeger
    University of California at Santa Barbara, Chicago, Illinois, USA
  • Mark Johnson
    Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, Washington, USA
  • David Kisailus
    University of California, Riverside, Riverside, California, USA
  • Nicholas Kotov
  • Frederik Krebs
    Technical University of Denmark, Roskilde, Denmark
  • Chun-Sing Lee
    City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Steven Lenhert
    Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, USA
  • Jian Liu
    University of Surrey, Guildford, Surrey, UK
  • Yi-Chun Lu
  • Dan Luo
    Cornell University, Ithaca, NY, USA
  • Jodie Lutkenhaus
  • Lynnette Madsen
    National Science Foundation, Arlington, Virginia, USA
  • João Mano
    Universidade de Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
  • Shirley Meng
  • Valeria Nicolosi
    Trinity College, Dublin 2, Ireland
  • Tae Won Noh
    IBS Center for Strongly Correlated Systems, South Korea
  • Aleksandr Noy
    Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, Livermore, California, USA
  • Susan Odom
  • Martin Pumera
    University of Chemistry and Technology, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Zhifeng Ren
    University of Houston, Houston, Texas, USA
  • David Seidman
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, USA
  • Yang Shao-Horn
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, , USA
  • Yugang Sun
    Temple University, Philadelphia, USA
  • Helen Van Swygenhoven
    Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI), Villigen-PSI, Switzerland
  • Jamie Warner
    University of Oxford, Oxford, UK
  • George Whitesides
    Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • Jackie Yi-Ru Ying
    NanoBio Lab, Singapore
  • Xian-Zheng Zhang
    Wuhan University, China
  • Ze Zhang
    Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
  • Zhiyuan Zhong
    Soochow University, Suzhou, China