The projects are offered 20-year contracts with delivery starting on January 2015 and a ceiling price of BRL 117/MWh ($50/MWh). The initial price of energy will be R$117.00/MWh.

They  cover eight states (Bahia, Ceará, Maranhão, Paraíba, Pernambuco, Piauí, Rio Grande do Norte and Rio Grande do Sul) with Bahia running 123 schemes and 2.92GW, Rio Grande do Sul with 94 schemes and 2.006GW and Ceará running 63 schemes and 1.487GW.

Currently, only projects that guarantee a connection to the grid will be able to sell power. The north-eastern state of Bahia leads with a total capacity 2.9GW in projects, followed by the southern state of Rio Grande do Sul with 2GW. Last year, some 622MW was installed lacked  local connections.

The winning schemes will have to begin delivering energy on 1 September 2015.