Dr. Yang-Kook Sun
Dr. Yang-Kook Sun

We are delighted to announce the winner of the 2022 Energy Storage Materials award. 

The purpose of the ENSM Award is to recognize an outstanding scientist in the field of energy storage materials and devices who has made a significant contribution and whose work shows significant innovation in the field.

The winner has been awarded a $3000 cash prize. You can read more about the award here: https://www.sciencedirect.com/journal/energy-storage-materials/about/awards

The 2022 winner is Dr. Yang-Kook Sun at Hanyang University, Seoul, Republic of Korea.

Yang-Kook Sun is currently a distinguished professor at Hanyang University in Seoul. He is a leading scientist in the battery research field with outstanding records and achievements. After receiving his Ph.D. degree at Seoul National University in 1992, he has pursued his passion for energy storage and conversion materials for innovative and high-level scientific work. One of his representative research achievements is high-energy and long-life cathode materials with a concentration gradient structure for lithium-ion batteries. His inventions have been successfully commercialized and used as cathode materials in the battery pack for various electric vehicles. His achievements are not solely limited to cathode materials though as Prof. Sun has worked on a wide scope of next-generation batteries. As reflected in published papers, patents, and honors, his excellence in scientific and technical achievements put him at the forefront of battery research and development and a world leader in battery technology.

Congratulations to the winner!