2021 Materials Today Innovation Award Winner

As selected by the Editors of Materials Today and Materials Today Advances, we delighted to announce that the 2021 Materials Today Innovation Award will be presented to Prof Yury Gogotsi (A.J. Drexel Nanomaterials Institute, Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Drexel University) for his ground-breaking work on fundamentals and applied aspects of synthesis and surface modification of inorganic nanomaterials.

Please join us for the virtual presentation on January 19th, 2022 in the evening US time (8:00-9:00 PM EST):.

In addition to the Awards, the live session will feature a plenary presentation from Yury Gogotsi, the winners of the 2021 Materials Today Rising Star Awards in the fields of Quantum Materials, Energy Conversion, Energy Storage, Biomaterials will be announced live during the session.

Dr. Yury Gogotsi is Distinguished University Professor and Charles T. and Ruth M. Bach Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Drexel University. He also serves as Director of the A.J. Drexel Nanomaterials Institute. He received his MS (1984) and PhD (1986) from Kiev Polytechnic and a DSc degree from the Ukrainian Academy of Sciences in 1995. His research group works on 2D nitrides and carbides (MXenes) and other nanomaterials for energy, water and biomedical applications. He published more than 800 papers, which have been cited over 160,000 times. He has been recognized as Highly Cited Researcher in Chemistry and Materials Science, and Citations Laureate in Physics by Clarivate Analytics. He has received numerous awards for his research, including an MRS medal, a European Carbon Association Award, S. Somiya Award from the International Union of Materials Research Societies, Fred Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanotechnology from the Materials Research Society, International Nanotechnology Prize (RUSNANOPrize), R&D 100 Awards from R&D Magazine and many other distinctions. He has been elected a Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences, American Association for Advancement of Science (AAAS), Materials Research Society, American Ceramic Society, the Electrochemical Society, Royal Society of Chemistry, International Society of Electrochemistry, as well as Academician of the World Academy of Ceramics. He holds honorary doctorates from several European universities. He is currently acting as Associate Editor of ACS Nano.

The Materials Today Innovation Award recognizes “monumental” work, which has opened a new, significant field of research and resulted in impactful, practical applications. Previous winners include Prof M Stanley Whittingham (Institute for Materials Research and the Materials Science and Engineering program at Binghamton University), Prof Russell Dupuis (Georgia Tech) and  Prof Michael Grätzel (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne) for their work on MO-CVD and solar energy conversion, respectively.

The Materials Today Rising Star Awards are presented to candidates within 15 years of completing their PhD who have demonstrated themselves to be the most exceptionally capable researchers with the potential to become future leaders in the field.

If you missed the presentation, feel free to view it below: