Click to Download the Programme of Materials Today Symposium


Materials Today and ChinaNANO are proud to present the “Materials Today: The Future of Materials Science" symposium on the afternoon of Saturday 17th August 2019.

Materials science is not only one of the fastest growing and most rapidly evolving scientific disciplines, but also one which stands at the forefront of modern technology, spanning every facet of 21st century life. This unique event will comprise presentations from four leaders in the field of nanoscience; sharing the results of their work and vision for the future.

In addition to talks by leading researchers, the symposium will also feature the presentations of the Materials Today Rising Star Awards, and a special Publishing Workshop discussing the rapidly evolving landscape of scholarly publishing.

For more information on the Materials Today Rising Star Awards and to submit a nomination, click here. Self-nominations and nominations of colleagues are welcome, and must be received by 19th July 2019.

Invited speakers

Prof Yi Cui, Stanford University, USA

Prof Ling Peng, Aix-Marseille University, CNRS, France

Prof Litao Sun, Southeast University, China

Prof Huijun Zhao, Griffith University, Australia

The speakers (from left to right): Litao Sun, Ling Peng, Huijun Zhao, Yi Cui
The speakers (from left to right): Litao Sun, Ling Peng, Huijun Zhao, Yi Cui

Publishing Workshop

This interactive session will include the opportunity to discuss journals with:

Dr Christiane Barranguet, Publishing Director, Elsevier - Materials Today

Dr Stewart Bland, Executive Publisher, Elsevier - Materials Today

Prof Jun Lou, Rice University and Editor-in-Chief, Materials Today

Prof CS Lee, City University of Hong Kong and Editor-in-Chief, Materials Today Energy

Prof Ze Zhang, Zhejiang University and Editor-in-Chief, Materials Today Nano

Prof Jun He, NCNST and Associate Editor, Materials Today Chemistry

Presenter biographies (partial)

Litao Sun is Changjiang Distinguished Professor and the head of School of Electronic Science and Engineering, Southeast University (SEU), the director of SEU-FEI Nano-Pico Center, and the director of Center for Advanced Materials and Manufacture, Joint Research Institute of Southeast University and Monash University. He is the chairman of In-situ Microscopy Chapter, Electron Microscopy Society of China. Currently, his research interests focus on: (1) Dynamic in-situ experimentation in the electron microscope (Setting up a Nanolab inside a TEM for nanomaterials); (2) Novel behaviors/properties from sub-10nm materials; (3) Applications of nanomaterials in environment, renewable energy and nanoelectromechanical systems. He is the author and co-author of around 200 papers on international journals including 2 in Science, 13 in Nature and Nature series journals, etc. He holds around 80 patents and has given more than 160 invited presentations. He is the Review Panel member of Graphene Flagship, European Union and Member of European Science Foundation College of Expert Reviewers. He has obtained National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars of China, New Century Excellent Talents in University, Young Leading Talent in Science and Technology Innovation etc.


Huijun Zhao obtained his PhD in Chemistry (1994) from the University of Wollongong, Australia. He is the founding Director of the Centre for Clean Environment and Energy at Griffith University, and the Centre for Environmental and Energy Nanomaterials at the Institute of Solid State Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences. Professor Zhao has won a number of awards such as The R.H. Stokes Medal and University Research Leadership Award and is the Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) and the Fellow of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (FRACI). He has expertise in energy and environmental nanomaterials, water source control and management, field-based sensing technologies and aquatic environmental quality assessment. One of his current pursuits is to explore new means to unlock the catalytic powers of nonprecious materials as high performance catalysts for important catalysis reactions. Professor Zhao has published over 420 refereed journal papers (Citation: 24,000 times; H-index: 82), earned him an honor of Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researchers. He has also gained 68 international patents within 8 world-wide patent families in functional nanomaterials & nanotechnology, photoelectrocatalysis and environmental monitoring systems that have been successfully commercialized.


Yi Cui is a Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Stanford University. He received B.S. in Chemistry in 1998 at the University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Ph.D in 2002 at Harvard University. After that, he went on to work as a Miller Postdoctoral Fellow at University of California, Berkeley. In 2005 he became an Assistant Professor in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Stanford University. In 2010 he was promoted with tenure. He has published ~430 research papers and has an H-index of 180 (Google). In 2014, he was ranked NO.1 in Materials Science by Thomson Reuters as “The World’s Most Influential Scientific Minds”. He is a Fellow of Materials Research Society, Electrochemical Society and Royal Society of Chemistry. He is an Associate Editor of Nano Letters. He is a Co-Director of the Bay Area Photovoltaics Consortium and a Co-Director of Battery 500 Consortium. His selected awards include: Dan Maydan Prize in Nanoscience (2019), Nano Today Award (2019), Blavatnik National Laureate (2017), MRS Kavli Distinguished Lectureship in Nanoscience (2015), the Sloan Research Fellowship (2010), KAUST Investigator Award (2008), ONR Young Investigator Award (2008), Technology Review World Top Young Innovator Award (2004). He has founded three companies to commercialize technologies from his group: Amprius Inc., 4C Air Inc. and EEnovate Technology Inc.


Christiane Barranguet studied oceanography in Uruguay and completed a DEA and a PhD in Oceanography in Marseille, France. After graduation, Christiane worked at the two major institutes for marine research in the Netherlands (NIOO and NIOZ), and later on at the University of Amsterdam, where besides her research work she mentored MSc, PhD and Post-doctoral students. Christiane has published over 30 scientific publications in international journals.

Since 2016, Christiane has been Publishing Director Material Sciences, leading a group of 7 publishers who manage over 70 research journals, the electronic platform and several scientific conferences. The group is also committed to highlight the societal impact of materials science by helping researchers communicate materials science to decision makers and the public; fostering diversity and inclusion and rewarding outstanding research and agents of change. Christiane has been encouraging geographical and gender representation internationally by giving workshops, lectures and inviting the dialogue during international conferences.


Stewart Bland is the Publisher of Materials Today, Applied Materials Today, Materials Today Advances, Materials Today Energy, Materials Today CommunicationsMaterials Today: Proceedings,Progress in Materials Science, Current Opinion in Solid State & Materials Science and Stewart's role involves developing the Materials Today family of titles as a comprehensive home for materials science publications, as well as overseeing the Materials Today website and the constituent content. Prior to joining Elsevier, Stewart completed a PhD in materials physics at the University of Durham.