APMI International has named its Fellows for 2019, chosen for their contributions to the goals, purpose, and mission of the organization as well as for a high level of expertise in the technology, practice, or business of the PM industry.

The 2019 recipients are Joseph Tunick Strauss and John L Johnson.

Joseph Tunick Strauss, engineer/president, HJE Company,  was the first to commercially offer turn-key small-scale high-performance gas atomizers and publish on the use of elevated temperature gas for atomization. Strauss formally introduced PM to the jewelry industry and continues to develop press-and-sinter and metal injection molding (MIM) technologies for them. He helped unite the PM and additive manufacturing (AM) communities and assisted in the formation of the AMPM conference.

John L Johnso, vice president, Elmet Technologies, has dedicated over 20 years to research and development of processes and products for the PM industry, including pioneering rapid prototyping of metals via selective laser sintering for desktop manufacturing. He has authored or coauthored more than 100 technical papers and, as an editorial committee member, reviewed over 200 technical articles for various technical journals including the International Journal of Powder Metallurgy.

This story uses material from APMI, with editorial changes made by Materials Today. The views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of Elsevier.