The ASM International Board of Trustees has named two metal spray expects as its award program recipients for 2020.

The awards program recognizes achievements of members of the materials science and engineering community.

The Engineering Materials Achievement Award (EMAA) was presented to Dr Victor Kenneth Champagne and Aaron Nardi, US Army Research Laboratory, Dr Dennis Helfritch, Service Engineering, Dr Ovi Marin, Quantum Technology Corporation, Rob Hrabe, VCR Metal Systems, Chris Howe, MOOG, and Lawrence Binek, United Technologies Research Center for a project covering the development and commercialization of a cold spray helium automated recovery and repair production system.

The Albert Sauveur Achievement Award was given to Sanjay Sampath, distinguished professor at Stony Brook University ‘for identifying impediments to knowledge in thermal spray technology, which led to his developing improved tools for wide industrial adoption of in situ process diagnostics and coating property measurements.’

This story uses material from ASM, with editorial changes made by Materials Today. The views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of Elsevier.