Jane LaGoy, technical services manager at Bodycote, has been given the 2015 ASTM International President’s Leadership Award.
The award recognizes individuals early in their ASTM career who have significantly advanced the organisation’s mission through extraordinary accomplishment, example and vision and is presented annually to two ASTM members.

LaGoy, who joined ASTM in 2010, is an active member of Committee B09 on Metal Powders and Metal Powder Products. She currently serves as B09 secretary and chairs Subcommittee B09.05 on Structural Parts. She has been instrumental in the development of several key ASTM standards for the powder metallurgy industry during her short tenure. LaGoy also works on Committees A01 on Steel, Stainless Steel and Related Alloys, B07 on Light Metals and Alloys, and F42 on Additive Manufacturing Technologies in addition to B09.
A graduate of Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, where she received a bachelor’s degree in materials engineering, LaGoy has worked at Bodycote since 1992 as an engineer, metallurgist and lab manager, assuming her current role in 2013. LaGoy specializes in hot isostatic pressing (HIP), materials characterization and powder metallurgy. 

This story is reprinted from material from ASTM, with editorial changes made by Materials Today. The views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of Elsevier.