The President’s Leadership Award recognises individuals early in their ASTM career who have significantly advanced the Society’s mission through extraordinary accomplishment, example and vision, and is presented to two ASTM members annually. 

McCartney, who joined ASTM International in 2007, is a member of Committees D18 on Soil and Rock and D35 on Geosynthetics. He serves as vice chairman of Subcommittee D18.04 on Hydrologic Properties and Hydraulic Barriers and is chairman of D18.09 on Cyclic and Dynamic Properties of Soils. In 2011, McCartney received the D18 Richard S Ladd Standards Development Award for his contributions to ASTM D7664, Standard Test Methods for Measurement of Hydraulic Conductivity of Unsaturated Soils, and was the guest editor for a two-volume special issue on unsaturated soil mechanics for the ASTM Geotechnical Testing Journal.

In addition to ASTM International, McCartney is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Association of Drilled Shaft Contractors, the Deep Foundations Institute, the International Geosynthetics Society and the Transportation Research Board. 

Find us on Google? Click here to sign up to our weekly e-newsletter and get news sent directly to your inbox!