Winfried J Huppmann, a distinguished member of the international powder metallurgy community, passed away on 13 August 2016, reports the MPIF.

Huppmann began his professional PM career working at Sherritt Gordon Mines, Canada, in 1970 before moving on to Max-Planck-Institute for Metals Research, Stuttgart, Germany. He worked as director of R&D at Sintermetallwerk Krebsöge GmbH (today GKN Sinter Metals). Huppmann ended his working career as a member of the Extended Board of Hilti AG in Liechtenstein, where he retired in 2005.

According to the MPIF, the Huppman was a significant contributor to the organization’s conferences and served on the APMI Editorial Advisory Committee. He was a primary organizer of the 1986 International Powder Metallurgy Conference in Düsseldorf, Germany, sponsored the EPMA. He was chairman of the German Society for Metal Science and vice chairmen of the German Ausschuß für Pulvermetallurgie (Committee on Powder Metallurgy). He was awarded the Ivor Jenkins Medal by the Institute of Metals (UK) at the 1990 PM World Congress, the Skaupy Award from the Ausschuß für Pulvermetallurgie in 1991 and, in 2008, EPMA honored him with their Distinguished Service Award.

This story is reprinted from material from the MPIF, with editorial changes made by Materials Today. The views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of Elsevier.