General Perspective

- The Journal of Alloys and Compounds is an international peer-reviewed medium for the publication of work on materials comprising compounds as well as alloys. Its great strength lies in the diversity of disciplines which it encompasses, drawing together results from materials science, physical metallurgy, solid-state chemistry and physics. The interdisciplinary nature of the journal is evident in many subject areas. Experimental and theoretical approaches to materials problems require an active interplay between a variety of traditional and novel scientific disciplines.

- The journal will not consider topics on liquid alloys, traditional steel, wear, creep, welding and joining, organic materials and polymers, coordination chemistry, ionic liquids, catalysis and biochemistry; it will not consider papers reporting only syntheses without any properties, purely computational papers without sufficient experimental validation, CALPHAD papers without regard to experimental observations. The submission of papers on technology of materials and processing is not encouraged. First principle calculations can only be accepted, if the system has already been proven in experiment or if this is required for a dedicated application. Technical reports will not be accepted.

- The work published in the journal should comprise studies on synthesis and structure combined with investigations of chemical and physical properties of alloys and compounds, contributing to the development of areas of current scientific interest.

- Papers submitted for publication should contain new experimental or theoretical results and their interpretation. The Journal of Alloys and Compounds provides a unique international forum where materials scientists, chemists and physicists can present their results both to researchers in their own fields and to others active in related areas.

Editorial board


  • L. Schultz
    DRESDEN concept e.V, TU Dresden, Germany


  • Eiji Abe
    Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, The University of Tokyo, 7-3-1, Hongo, Bunkyo-ku, 113-865, Tokyo, Japan
  • Jennifer Aitken
    Dept. of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Duquesne University, 600 Forbes Avenue, 308 Mellon Hall, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, PA 15282, USA
  • Livio Battezzati
    Dipart. di Chimica IFM, Università di Torino, via Pietro Giuria 7, 10125, Torino, Italy
  • Jurgen Buschow
    Van der Waals - Zeeman Instituut (WZI), Science Park 904, Universiteit van Amsterdam, Postbus 94485, 1098 XH, Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Lawrence Cook
    Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, Catholic University of America, 620 Michigan Ave., Washington, Washington, 20064, USA
  • Dmitry G. Eskin
    Brunel Centre for Advanced Solidification Technology (BCAST), Brunel University London, UB8 3PH, Uxbridge, Middlesex, UK
  • Huiqing Fan
    Sch. of Materials Science and Engineering, Northwestern Polytechnical University, 127 Youyixilu, 7100072, Xi'an, China
  • Josef Fidler
    Inst. of Solid State Physics, Technische Universität Wien, Wiedner Hauptstrasse 8-10, 1040, Wien, Austria
  • Thiagarajan Gnanasekaran
    Indira Gandhi Centre For Atomic Research, 603102, Kalpakkam, India
  • Cristina Gomez Polo
    Depto. de Física, Universidad Pública de Navarra, Campus de Arrosadia, E-31006, Pamplona, Spain
  • Jean-Marc Greneche
    Institut des Molécules et Matériaux du Mans (IMMM), UMR CNRS 6283, 72085, Le Mans Cedex 9, France
  • Mohamed Henini
    School of Physics and Astronomy, Nottingham, University Park, NG7 2RD, Nottingham, England, UK
  • Jacques Huot
    Hydrogen Research Inst., Université du Quebec à Trois Rivières, 3351 Boulevard Des Forges (P.O. Box 500), Trois Rivieres, G9A 5H7, Quebec, Canada
  • Herbert Ipser
    Dept. of Inorganic Chemistry/Materials Chemistry, University of Vienna, Waehringertrasse 42, A-1090, Vienna, Austria
  • Yongchang Liu
    Tianjin University, China
  • Valmor Mastelaro
    University of São Paulo, University of São Paulo, Av Trabalhador Sãocarlense 400, CEP 13560-350, São Carlos, Brazil
  • Hongge Pan
    School of Materials Science and Engineering, Zhejiang University, 38 Zheda Road, 310027, Hangzhou, China
  • Vitalij Pecharsky
    Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, lowa State University, Ames, Iowa, IA 50011-3020, USA
  • Wieslaw Strek
    Inst. of Low Temperature and Structure Research, Polish Academy of Sciences in Wroclaw, Okólna str. 2, PL-50-950, Wrocław, Poland
  • Isabel Van Driessche
    Dept. of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, Universiteit Gent, Krijgslaan 281 (Building S3), 9000, Gent, Belgium
  • Olga Volkova
    Fac. of Physics; Low temperature Physics and Superconductivity Dept., Low temperature Physics and Superconductivity Dept., M.V. Lomonosov Moscow State University, Leninskie Gory 1, 119991, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • Renbing Wu
    Department of Materials Science, Fudan University, 220 Handan Road, 20043, Shanghai, China
  • Xuezhang Xiao
    School of Materials Science & Engineering, Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
  • Volodymyr Yartys
    Institute for Energy Technology, Norwegian University of Science & Technology NTNU, P.O. Box 40, NO 2027, Kjeller, Norway

Assistant Editors

  • Guenter Fuchs
    Institute for Metallic Materials, IFW Dresden, Dresden, Germany
  • Thomas G. Woodcock
    Institute for Metallic Materials (IMW), IFW Dresden, Dresden, Germany

Editorial Advisory Board

  • G.-Y. Adachi
  • A.V. Andreev
    Prague, Czech Republic
  • A. Dahle
    Jönköping, Sweden
  • F.J. Di Salvo
    Ithaca, New York, USA
  • T.B. Flanagan
    Burlington, Vermont, USA
  • V.G. Harris
    Boston, Massachusetts, USA
  • D.C. Johnson
    Eugene, Oregon, USA
  • H. Kleinke
    Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • E.J. Mittermeijer
    Stuttgart, Germany
  • Y. Mozharivskyj
    Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
  • R. Nesper
    Zurich, Switzerland
  • E. Peterson
  • W. Prellier
    Caen Cedex, France
  • H. Sakaguchi
    Tottori, Japan
  • H. Sato
    Tokyo, Japan
  • O.N. Senkov
    Dayton, Ohio, USA
  • K. Suzuki
    Sendai-Shi, Japan
  • T. Takabatake
    Higashi-Hiroshima, Japan
  • T. Yamase
    Yokohama-Shi, Japan
  • C.-L. Yeh
    Taichung, Taiwan