The European Powder Metallurgy Association (EPMA) has launched its Powder Metallurgy Component Awards 2016, the first since 2010.

The competition is open to EPMA members who manufacture all types of components made by the PM process. The awards are for major achievements in successful commercialisation or innovation of a product, taking into account cost savings, improved quality and stimulation of further usage of PM technology.

The categories are:

  • additive manufacturing
  • hot isostatic pressing
  •  metal injection moulding
  • pm structural (including hard materials and diamond tool parts).

The awards will be presented during the PM2016 World Congress & Exhibition to be held in Hamburg, Germany and all entries will be prominently displayed as part of a PM Showcase in the World PM2016 Exhibition. The last awards competition was held at the World PM2010 Congress & Exhibition.

The deadline for submission of entries is 6 May 2016.

This story is reprinted from material from the EPMA with editorial changes made by Materials Today. The views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent those of Elsevier.