This year’s Frank Isakson Prize for Optical Effects in Solids has been awarded to Dirk van der Marel, University of Geneva, Switzerland, and David Burnham Tanner, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA.

The award was created to recognize outstanding optical research that leads to breakthroughs in the condensed matter sciences, and the prize consists of $5,000, an allowance for travel to the meeting of the Society at which the prize is being presented and a certificate citing the contributions made by the recipient. The prize was established in 1979, and from 1994 has been supported by the journal Solid State Communications.

To celebrate the announcement, two new interviews with the recipients of the 2016 Frank Isakson Prize are included here; discussing the award, winners’ research and future research trends.