Presentation of 12th Feng Xinde Prize for the Best Chinese Paper Published in Polymer in 2017

The Feng Xinde Polymer Prize was established by Professor Charles C. Han in 2006. This prize was named in honour of Dr. Xinde Feng, who significantly contributed to the creation and development of modern polymer chemistry in China. In the late 1940s he was the first professor to offer a course on polymer chemistry, and he helped in the development of polymer science through the organization of meetings and symposia involving both Chinese and international scientists.

We are pleased to announce that the winners of the 12th Feng Xinde Polymer Prize for the Best Chinese Paper published in Polymer during 2017 were Professor Wenguang Liu and his co-authors including Peiyi Wu for their paper Methyl matters: An autonomic rapid self-healing supramolecular poly(N-methacryloyl glycinamide) hydrogel published in Polymer, Vol. 126, pg 1-8 (2017).

Professor Wenguang Liu is a full Professor of School of Materials Science and Engineering at Tianjin University. He earned his PhD in Biomedical Engineering in 1999 from Tianjin University. Professor Liu was a visiting scholar at The University of Hong Kong from July 2003 to January 2004, and served as a research associate of ITC at Hong Kong Polytechnic University from March to November 2004. He did postdoctoral research at the Department of Cellular and Molecular Medicine, University of Ottawa (Canada) from March 2005 to November 2006. His current research interests are functional polymers, hydrogels, regenerative medicine and tissue engineering. Professor Liu is the recipient of 2013 National Natural Science Foundation of China for Distinguished Young Scholar.

Presentation of 12th Feng Xinde Prize for the Best Chinese Paper Published in Polymer in 2017

Feng Xinde Prize Winner, Professor Wen-guang Liu Tianjin University (8th from Left).  

The nine nominees are also presented medals and certificates in this photo.

Polymer Representatives

Professor Stephen Cheng, Editor-in-Chief (sixth from right)                                                                     

Professor Charles C. Han, Senior Editor (farthest right)

Professor Erqiang Chen, Editor (fifth from right)

Professor Yongming Chen, Editor (second from right)

Professor Qiang Fu, Editor (Second from left)

Professor Kohzo Ito, Editor (Farthest Left)

Professor Hiroshi Jinnai, Editor (fourth from right)

Professor Chain-Shu Hsu, Board Member (seventh from right)

Tingting Zou (Executive Publisher, Elsevier, third from right)

The Award Ceremony took place on 13 October 2017 during the specially organized Elsevier Polymer Symposium for the Feng Xinde Prize, International symposium on Polymer Science and Engineering  held at Peking University, China

I would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere gratitude to the Executive Committee who assessed over 200 excellent papers to select the nominees and winner.

I would also like to thank the conference organizers: Professor Erqiang Chen and Ms Yain Wang for all their help arranging such a high quality event.

Finally, congratulations to our nominees and winner, and thank you to all of our authors, referees, readers, journal Editors and Editorial Board members for their contribution to Polymer.

We look forward to receiving and publishing more top papers from China!