The Chemical Coaters Association International honored members for service and dedication and installed its 2011 – 2012 Officers and National Board members during their 2011 Annual Meeting held in Welches, Ore., last month. 

During its Annual Awards luncheon, CCAI announced Tom McCardle as the first posthumous winner of its highest honor, The James F. Wright Lifetime Achievement award. Tom’s award was accepted by his son, Dennis McCardle of Kolene Corporation, Dennis’s wife Pam, Tom’s son-in-law John Cole of Parker Ionics, and longtime colleague Jim Malloy of Kolene. Tom was recognized for his years of service to CCAI serving on the National Board and as National President. Tom was instrumental in hiring Anne Goyer as CCAI’s Executive Director in the late 1980s when then Executive Director Matt Heuertz retired.

“My family is truly touched that CCAI has given its highest award to my dad,” Dennis McCardle said. “I am fortunate to be able to work at a company where I am reminded of his talents and influences every day. When we presented the award to my mother, my brother and sister and I knew it would be very emotional. She wished you could have been there to share in our celebration as my father would have been very proud of this award. Dad was always thinking so far ahead; I am sure he would be thrilled at how far CCAI has come, but I truly think he saw what it could be. Thank you again for this wonderful honor of my father and his work.”

In addition to the Lifetime Achievement Award, CCAI also honored its Chapter User and Supplier of the Year members. Chapters recognize a User and Supplier member for their year-long service and dedication to their respective Chapter.

The 2010 -2011 Chapter Award winners are: Nathan Finney, IHD Powder Coating Services, and Neil Walker, Diamond Vogel Paint, Central States Chapter; Les Williams, Nu-Way Industries, and Joe Laubenthal, Wagner Industrial Solutions, Northern Illinois Chapter; Bernie Walz, Hoffman Enclosures Inc., and Scott Berg, Berg Industrial Sales, Twin Cities Chapter; Rapid Engineering, (company award) and Jeff Pfost, Environmental Partners, West Michigan Chapter; John Heyer, Kettle Moraine Coatings, and Rich Ulrich, Northern Coatings & Chemical, Wisconsin Chapter; Shivie Dhillon, Sundial Powder Coating, and Bob Kelly, Parker Ionics, Southern California Chapter; and Ty Crowder, Finishing Consultants, Portland Chapter.

CCAI also installed the following individuals to serve on the National Board of Directors for the 2011-2012 term during the 2011 Annual Meeting:

President: Sherrill Stoenner, Stoenner Finishing Consultants – Central States Chapter
Vice President: Sam Woehler, George Koch Sons LLC, Unaffiliated
Secretary/Treasurer: Kevin Coursin, KMI Systems – Northern Illinois Chapter
Recent Past President: Bruce Bryan, Col-Met Spray Booths – Northern Illinois Chapter

Individuals serving on the National Board of Directors for the 2011– 2012 programming year are as follows:

Trena Benson, DuPont Coating Solutions - Texas Chapter; Jim Docken, Galaxy Associates – Twin Cities Chapter; Duane Fudge, Chemetall - Mid-Atlantic Chapter; Jim Gallagher, Harley Davidson - Wisconsin Chapter; Loren Keene, Wagner Systems, Inc. – Central States Chapter; Todd Luciano, Products Finishing – Greater Cincinnati Chapter; Ron Lum, Coral Chemical – Southern California Chapter; Jim Malloy, Kolene Corp. - Unaffliated; Tim Milner, JIT Powder Coating, Twin Cities Chapter; Bill Oney, Mutz Manufacturing - Wisconsin Chapter; Ken Pelak, Broadmoor Products - West Michigan Chapter; John Sudges, Midwest Finishing Systems – Northern Illinois Chapter; Bob Warren, retired – West Michigan Chapter; Jeff Watson, Custom Chemicals of Texas - Texas Chapter; Serving as Ex-officio Board members are Larry Melgary, Northern Coatings & Chemicals - Wisconsin Chapter; and Vicki Gelling, North Dakota State University – Unaffliated.JIT Powder Coating - Twin Cities Chapter;

“This was our most successful Annual Meeting ever,” commented Anne Goyer, CCAI Executive Director. “The content of our program received the highest evaluation marks of any previous meeting, we attracted more first-timers to this year’s event and we also had more members attend this year’s Annual Meeting than any in the past.”