Sponsoring journal: Applied Surface Science
Sponsoring journal: Applied Surface Science

Abstract Submission Deadline: 17 March 2015

Welcome to ICASS, the 1st International Conference on Applied Surface Science, which will be held at the Riverside Oriental Hotel in Shanghai, China, from the 27-30 July 2015.

ICASS is organized by the journal Applied Surface Science. The conference will provide a forum for researchers in all areas of applied surface science to present their work. The main topics of the conference are in line with the most popular areas of research reported in Applied Surface Science, please see the list further down this page.

ICASS will report on and discuss current research on the role and use of surfaces in chemical and physical processes, related to catalysis, electrochemistry, energy, new/functional materials and nanotechnology. Also the various techniques and characterization methods will be discussed.

This is a significant opportunity for you to hear from leading scientists in the area and to network with colleagues in industry and academia to ensure you keep abreast of recent developments in this fast evolving field.

Submit your abstract here: http://www.icassconference.com/submit-abstract.asp

Conference Topics

Abstract submissions are invited on the following conference topics and should be submitted using the online submission system:

  • Surface science of catalysis, electrocatalysis and photocatalysis
  • Surface engineering and functionalization
  • Functional surfaces and coatings
  • Surface science applied to energy conversion and storage
  • Surface nanotechnology and devices
  • Biointerfaces
  • Electrochemistry at surfaces and corrosion protection strategies
  • Advances in surface characterization tools
  • Environmentally-friendly materials



  • Weixin Huang, China
  • Hikaru Kobayashi, Japan
  • Fatima Montemor, Portugal
  • Robert Opila, USA
  • Peter Schaaf, Germany

Program Committee

  • J.G. Chen, USA
  • M. Dinescu, Romania
  • A.R. González-Elipe, Spain
  • G. Grundmeier, Germany
  • P. Kingshott, Australia
  • T. Komeda, Japan
  • L. Kövér, Hungary
  • T. Lippert, Switzerland
  • C.F. McConville, UK
  • H. Rudolph, Netherlands
  • A. Teplyakov, USA
  • R.M. Wallace, USA

International Advisory Committee

  • Xinhe Bao, China
  • Charles Campbell, USA
  • Hajo Freund, Germany
  • Joseph Greene, USA
  • Alfredo Juan, Argentina
  • Yves Leterrier, Switzerland
  • Allan Matthews, UK
  • Manos Mavrikakis, USA
  • Akira Nakajima, Japan
  • Emil Pincik, Slovakia
  • Nini Pryds, Denmark
  • Federico Rosei, Canada
  • Hendrik Swart, South Africa
  • Sefik Suzer, Turkey
  • Qikun Xue, China
  • Harold Zandvliet, The Netherlands
Visit event website