Acta Biomaterialia is an international journal that publishes peer-reviewed original research reports, review papers and communications in the broadly defined field of biomaterials science. The emphasis of the journal is on the relationship between biomaterial structure and function at all length scales.

The scope of Acta Biomaterialia includes:

  • Hypothesis-driven design of biomaterials
  • Biomaterial surface science linking structure to biocompatibility, including protein adsorption and cellular interactions
  • Biomaterial mechanical characterization and modeling at all scales
  • Molecular, statistical and other types of modeling applied to capture biomaterial behavior
  • Interactions of biological species with defined surfaces
  • Combinatorial approaches to biomaterial development
  • Structural biology as it relates structure to function for biologically derived materials that have application as a medical material, or as it aids in understanding the biological response to biomaterials
  • Methods for biomaterial characterization
  • Processing of biomaterials to achieve specific functionality
  • Materials development for arrayed genomic and proteomic screening

Benefits to authors

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • Professor William R. Wagner
    University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States

Managing Editor

  • Vera Kucharski


  • Dr. Marc Bohner
    RMS Foundation, Bettlach, Switzerland
  • Professor Sarah C. Heilshorn PhD
    Stanford University Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Stanford, California, United States

Coordinating Editor

  • Professor Christopher Schuh
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 77 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, Massachusetts, MA 02139, United States

Editorial Board

  • Kristi S. Anseth
    University of Colorado Boulder, Boulder, Colorado, United States
  • Gang Bao
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Jake Barralet
    McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Angela Belcher
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • Sangeeta Bhatia
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • Susmita Bose
    Washington State University, Pullman, Washington, United States
  • David G. Castner
    University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, United States
  • Xuesi Chen
    Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry Chinese Academy of Sciences, Changchun, China
  • Joel Collier
    Duke University, Durham, North Carolina, United States
  • José Manuel Delgado López
    Spanish Scientific Research Council, Madrid, Spain
  • Maria-Pau Ginebra
    Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Barcelona, Spain
  • Dirk W. Grijpma
    University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands
  • Robert Guldberg PhD
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Pamela Habibovic
    Maastricht University, Maastricht, Netherlands
  • Jeffrey Hubbell
    University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois, United States
  • Yoshito Ikada
    Suzuka University, Suzuka, Japan
  • Klaus D. Jandt
    Friedrich Schiller University Jena, Jena, Germany
  • Roger D. Kamm
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • Pierre Layrolle
    University of Nantes Faculty of Dental Surgery, Nantes, France
  • Andreas Lendlein PhD
    Helmholtz Centre Geesthacht Centre for Materials and Coastal Research Institute of Biomaterials Science, Teltow, Germany
  • Kam Leong PhD
    Columbia University Department of Biomedical Engineering, New York, New York, United States
  • David C. Martin
    University of Delaware, Newark, Delaware, United States
  • Prabhas V. Moghe
    Rutgers University Department of Biomedical Engineering, Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
  • William Murphy
    University of Wisconsin Madison, Madison, Wisconsin, United States
  • Yukio Nagasaki
    University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba, Japan
  • Matthias Peuster
    Jilin University, Changchun, Jilin, China
  • Catherine Picart
    Grenoble Institute of Technology, Grenoble, France
  • Suzie Pun
    University of Washington, Seattle, Washington, United States
  • Rui L. Reis
    University of Minho, Braga, Portugal
  • Erich Sackmann
    Technical University of Munich Department of Physics, Garching, Germany
  • Michael S. Sacks
    The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, United States
  • Shelly Sakiyama-Elbert
    The University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, United States
  • Christine E. Schmidt PhD
    University of Florida J Crayton Pruitt Family Department of Biomedical Engineering, Gainesville, Florida, United States
  • Patrik Schmuki
    Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg, Erlangen, Germany
  • Dror Seliktar
    Technion Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
  • Sarah E. Stabenfeldt PhD
    Arizona State University School of Biological and Health Systems Engineering, Tempe, Arizona, United States
  • Martina Stenzel PhD
    University of New South Wales Centre for Advanced Macromolecular Design, Sydney, Australia
  • Samuel Stupp PhD
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, United States
  • Maria Vallet-Regi
    Complutense University of Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • Naren Vyavahare
    Clemson University, Clemson, South Carolina, United States
  • Jun Wang
    South China University of Technology, Guangzhou, China
  • Stephen Weiner PhD
    Weizmann Institute of Science, Rehovot, Israel
  • Cuie Wen
    RMIT University, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Ann Wennerberg
    Malmo University, Malmo, Sweden
  • Frank Witte
    Charité Universitätsmedizin Berlin Julius Wolff Institute for Biomechanics and Musculoskeletal Regeneration - Campus Virchow Klinikum, Berlin, Germany
  • Chengtie Wu
    Shanghai Institute of Ceramics Chinese Academy of Sciences, Changning District, China

The Board of Governors of Acta Biomaterialia

  • Dr. John Ågren
  • Dr. Hua Ai
  • Professor Kristi S. Anseth
  • Dr. Edward Cole, Jr.
  • Dr. Arthur Coury
  • Professor Gerhard Dehm
  • Professor Alexis Deschamps
  • Dr. George Gray III
  • Professor Carolyn Hansson
  • Professor Tatsuki Ohji
  • Dr. Gregory B. Olson
  • Professor Judith Ann Schneider
  • Professor Christopher Schuh
  • Dr. M. Singh
  • Professor Gary Warren