Scripta Materialia is a LETTERS journal of Acta Materialia, providing a forum for the rapid publication of short communications on the relationship between the structure and the properties of inorganic materials. The emphasis is on originality rather than incremental research. Short reports on the development of materials with novel or substantially improved properties are also welcomed. Emphasis is on either the functional or mechanical behavior of metals, ceramics and semiconductors at all length scales.

The following aspects are of particular interest:

(i) discovery or development of new materials with novel functional or mechanical properties of potential engineering interests;

(ii) characterization of the structure and chemistry of materials for understanding the properties;

(iii) cutting-edge experiments and theory for understanding structure-property relationships;

(iv) novelty in simulation and modeling in the context of understanding properties, preferably combined with experimental verification;

(v) elucidation of the mechanisms involved in the synthesis and processing of materials as a route to the elucidation of properties;

In addition, Scripta Materialia publishes comments on papers published in Acta Materialia and Scripta Materialia. The journal also publishes Viewpoint Sets, which are a collection of invited short articles focused on topics of current interest within the scope of the journal and coordinated by invited guest editors.

Authors wishing to download the journal's Latex bibliography file, may do so below.

Download Latex bibliography fileDownload Latex article templateInstructions for LaTeX authors

Editorial board

Coordinating Editor

  • Professor Christopher Schuh
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 77 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02139, United States


  • Professor Irene Beyerlein
    University of California at Santa Barbara Department of Mechanical Engineering, Santa Barbara, California, CA 93106-5070, United States
  • Professor Jeff De Hosson
    University of Groningen Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, Nijenborgh 18, 9700 AE, Groningen, Netherlands
  • Professor Tadashi Furuhara
    Tohoku University Institute for Materials Research, 2-1-1 Katahira, 980-8577, Sendai, Japan
  • Professor Kazuhiro Hono
    National Institute for Materials Science, 1 Chome-2-1 Sengen, 305-0047, Tsukuba-Shi, Japan
  • Professor Christopher Hutchinson
    Monash University Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Wellington Road, Clayton, VIC 3800, Victoria, Australia
  • Professor Nack Joon Kim
    Pohang University of Science and Technology Graduate Institute of Ferrous Technology, San 31 Hyoja-Dong, Nam-Gu, Pohang, 790-784, Pohang, South Korea
  • Professor Lei Lu
    Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Sciences Chinese Academy of Sciences, 72 Wenhua Road, 110016, Shenyang, China
  • Professor Ce-Wen Nan
    Tsinghua University School of Materials Science and Engineering, 30 Shuangqing Rd, Haidian Qu, 100084, Beijing, China
  • Professor Nitin Padture
    Brown University School of Engineering, Box D 182 Hope Street, Providence, 02912-9037, United States
  • Professor Upadrasta Ramamurty
    Nanyang Technological University School of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, 50 Nanyang Avenue, North Spine, #N3.2-02-05, Singapore 639798, Singapore
  • Professor Jeffrey Rickman
    Lehigh University, Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, 27 Memorial Drive West, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, PA. 18015, United States
  • Professor Subhash Risbud
    University of California Davis Department of Chemical Engineering and Materials Science, 1 Shields Avenue, Davis, California, 95616-5294, United States
  • Professor David Rodney
    University of Lyon, Lyon Tech-La Doua, Bâtiment Brillouin, 6 rue Ada B, 69361, Lyon, France
  • Professor Gregory Rohrer
    Carnegie Mellon University, Dept. of Materials Science and Engineering, Wean Hall, 5000 Forbes Ave., Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, PA 15213-3890, United States

The Board of Governors of Scripta Materialia

  • Dr. John Ågren
  • Dr. Hua Ai
  • Professor Kristi S. Anseth
  • Dr. Edward Cole, Jr.
  • Dr. Arthur Coury
  • Professor Gerhard Dehm
  • Professor Alexis Deschamps
  • Dr. George Gray III
  • Professor Carolyn Hansson
  • Professor Tatsuki Ohji
  • Dr. Gregory B. Olson
  • Professor Judith Ann Schneider
  • Professor Christopher Schuh
  • Dr. M. Singh
  • Professor Gary Warren