Biomaterials is an international journal covering the science and clinical application of biomaterials. A biomaterial is now defined as a substance that has been engineered to take a form which, alone or as part of a complex system, is used to direct, by control of interactions with components of living systems, the course of any therapeutic or diagnostic procedure. It is the aim of the journal to provide a peer-reviewed forum for the publication of original papers and authoritative review and opinion papers dealing with the most important issues facing the use of biomaterials in clinical practice. The scope of the journal covers the wide range of physical, biological and chemical sciences that underpin the design of biomaterials and the clinical disciplines in which they are used. These sciences include polymer synthesis and characterization, drug and gene vector design, the biology of the host response, immunology and toxicology and self assembly at the nanoscale. Clinical applications include the therapies of medical technology and regenerative medicine in all clinical disciplines, and diagnostic systems that reply on innovative contrast and sensing agents. The journal is relevant to areas such as cancer diagnosis and therapy, implantable devices, drug delivery systems, gene vectors, bionanotechnology and tissue engineering.

Click here for New Editorial Instructions.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • K.W. Leong
    Columbia University, New York, NY, USA

Managing Editor

  • C. H. Quek
    Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA

Associate Editors

  • Y. Byun
    Seoul National University, Republic of Korea
  • B. Chan
    The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • C.-S. Cho
    Seoul National University, Republic of Korea
  • A.J. Garcia
    Georgia Institute of Technology, USA
  • S.B. Goodman
    Stanford University, USA
  • X-J. Liang
    National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, Beijing, China
  • Z. Liu
    Soochow University, China
  • H.-Q. Mao
    Johns Hopkins University, USA
  • Y. Nagasaki
    University of Tsukuba, Japan
  • A. Pandit
    National University of Ireland, Ireland
  • A. P. Pêgo
    Universidade do Porto, Porto, Portugal
  • L.A. Poole-Warren
    UNSW Australia, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • H.-W. Sung
    National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  • H. Yu
    National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore

Honorary Editor

  • D.F. Williams
    Wake Forest Institute of Regenerative Medicine, North Carolina, USA

International Editorial Board

  • H. Ai
    Sichuan University, China
  • L. Ambrosio
    University of Naples Federico II, Italy
  • J.M. Anderson
    Case Western University, USA
  • C.R. Arciola
    Istituti Ortopedici Rizzoli, Bologna, Italy
  • S.F. Badylak
    University of Pittsburgh, USA
  • T. Barker
    Georgia Tech, USA
  • S.L. Bellis
    University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • D. Campoccia
    Istituti Ortopedici Rizzoli, Italy
  • Y. Cao
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine, China
  • R. Carrier
    Northeastern University, Boston, USA
  • J. Chang
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Shanghai, China
  • G.-Q. Chen
    Tsinghua University, China
  • T.V. Chirila
    Queensland Eye Institute, Australia
  • P.K. Chu
    City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • S. Cool
    A STAR Institute of Medical Biology, Singapore
  • J. Dai
    Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • W.H. de Jong
    National Institute of Public Health and Evironment, The Netherlands
  • W.-P. Deng
    Taipei Medical University, Taiwan
  • P. Dubruel
    Ghent University, Belgium
  • P. Ducheyne
    University of Pennsylvania, USA
  • M.D.M. Evans
    CSIRO Materials Science and Engineering, Australia
  • S.-S. Feng
    National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • S. Gong
    University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison, Wisconsin, USA
  • D.W. Grainger
    The University of Utah, Salt Lake City, USA
  • D.W. Grijpma
    University of Twente, The Netherlands
  • X. Gu
    Nantong University, China
  • V. Hasirci
    Middle East Technical University, Turkey
  • W.E. Hennink
    Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • S.H. Hsu
    National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • J. Hunt
    University of Liverpool, Liverpool, UK
  • D.W. Hutmacher
    Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • K. Ishihara
    The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • H. Iwata
    Kyoto University, Japan
  • D.L. Kaplan
    Tufts University, USA
  • K. Kataoka
    University of Tokyo, Japan
  • H.W. Kim
    Dankook University, The Republic of Korea
  • Y.H. Kim
    Hanyang University, The Republic of Korea
  • C.J. Kirkpatrick
    Johannes Gutenberg University, Germany
  • J.C. Knowles
    University College London (UCL), London, UK
  • H.J. Kong
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • J. Kopecek
    University of Utah, USA
  • S.C. Kundu
    Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
  • D. Lacroix
    INSIGNEO Institute for in silico Medicine, Sheffield, UK
  • C.T. Laurencin
    University of Connecticut, USA
  • D. S. Lee PhD
    Sungkyunkwan University (SKKU), Suwon, The Republic of Korea
  • R.J. Levy
    The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia, USA
  • Y. Li
    Zhongnan Hospital of Wuhan University, China
  • F.-H. Lin
    National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • W. Liu
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University School of Medicine, China
  • I. Martin
    University Hospital Basel, Switzerland
  • T. Okano
    Tokyo Women's Medical University, Japan
  • R.O.C. Oreffo
    University of Southampton, UK
  • H.W. Ouyang MD, PhD
    Zhejiang University School of Medicine, Hangzhou, Zhejiang, China
  • B. Ratner
    University of Washington, USA
  • R.L. Reis
    University of Minho, Braga, Portugal
  • U. Ripamonti
    University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa
  • W.M. Saltzman
    Yale University, USA
  • D. Seliktar
    Israel Institute of Technology Technion City, Israel
  • C.G. Simon, Jr.
    National Institute of Standards and Technology, USA
  • M. Sittinger
    Charité University Hospital Berlin, Germany
  • M.M. Stevens
    Imperial College London, UK
  • M.A. Swartz
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland
  • V. Trajkovic
    University of Belgrade, Serbia
  • R.S. Tuan
    University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, USA
  • H. Uludag
    University of Alberta, Canada
  • R.B. Vernon
    Benaroya Research Institute, USA
  • E.A. Vogler
    Pennsylvania State University, USA
  • W. Walsh
    University of New South Wales, Australia
  • S.G. Wang
    Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • A. Weiss
    The University of Sydney, Australia
  • C. Werner
    Leibniz Institute of Polymer Research, Dresden, Germany
  • M. Yamato
    Tokyo Women's Medical University, Japan
  • H.S. Yoo
    Kangwon National University, Republic of Korea
  • N.P. Ziats
    Case Western University, USA
  • P. Zilla
    University of Cape Town, South Africa