The journal provides an international medium for the publication of theoretical and experimental studies and reviews related to the electronic, electrochemical, ionic, magnetic, optical, and biosensing properties of solid state materials in bulk, thin film and particulate forms. Papers dealing with synthesis, processing, characterization, structure, physical properties and computational aspects of nano-crystalline, crystalline, amorphous and glassy forms of ceramics, semiconductors, layered insertion compounds, low-dimensional compounds and systems, fast-ion conductors, polymers and dielectrics are viewed as suitable for publication. Articles focused on nano-structured aspects of these advanced solid-state materials will also be considered suitable.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • J. Xia
    Irvine, California, USA

Founding Editors

  • M. Balkanski
  • H. Kamimura
  • S. Mahajan

Editorial Board

  • D. Choi
    Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington, USA
  • P. Deymier
    University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona, USA
  • B. Dunn
    University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), Los Angeles, California, USA
  • R. Freer
    University of Manchester, Manchester, England, UK
  • S. Gaan
    Intel Corporation, Chandler, Arizona, USA
  • N. Govindaraju
    Oklahoma State University, Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
  • A.F. Hepp
    NASA Glenn Research Center, Cleveland, Ohio, USA
  • N. Hort
    Helmholtz-Zentrum Geesthacht, Geesthacht, Germany
  • V. Jayaram
    Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
  • C. Julien
    Sorbonne Universités
  • J. Y. Kim
    Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington, USA
  • Y. Komem
    Technion - Israel Institute of Technology, Haifa, Israel
  • S. Makridis
    University of Patras, Agrinio, Greece
  • A. Manivannan
    US DOE/NETL, Morgantown, West Virginia, USA
  • R.E. Riman
    Rutgers University, Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
  • S. Sampath
    Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
  • R. Singh
    University of Cincinnati, Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
  • F Witte
    Charité - Universitätsmedizin Berlin, Berlin, Germany