Superlattices and Microstructures is a journal disseminating the science and technology of synthetic heterostructures, including individual and collective use of semiconductors, metals and insulators for the exploitation of their unique properties. The journal hosts papers dealing with fundamental and applied experimental research as well as theoretical studies. Fields of interest, including emerging ones, cover:

  • Heterostructures, nanowires, quantum dots
  • Thin films, surfaces and interfaces
  • Photonics
  • Quantum electronics, optoelectronics
  • Plasmonics
  • Spintronics
  • Wide bandgap semiconductors, including organic materials, and related heterostructures and devices
  • Quantum information processing in the solid-state and related devices
  • Topological insulators
  • Novel or exploratory low-dimensional/2D-materials and devices
  • Novel photovoltaic (perovskites, etc.) and thermoelectric layered materials

In addition to Research Papers, the journal aims at publishing Topical Reviews providing insights into rapidly evolving or more mature fields. Written by leading researchers in their respective fields, those articles are commissioned by the Editorial Board.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board

Editor In Chief

  • D. Y. Yang
    Hangzhou, China


  • D. Gogova
    University of Oslo, Oslo, Norway
  • F. Medjdoub
    Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS), I.E.M.N., Villeneuve d'Ascq, France
  • X. Wang
    Peking University, Beijing, China
  • D. Y. Yang
    Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China

Managing Editor

  • N. Ma

Editorial Advisory Board

  • L. Esaki
    University of Tsukuba, Tsukuba, Japan
  • W.P. Kirk
    Texas A&M University College Station, College Station, Texas, United States
  • H. Morkoc
    Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, Virginia, United States
  • S.S.P. Parkin
    IBM Almaden Research Center, San Jose, California, United States
  • S.J. Pearton
    UNIVERSITY OF FLORIDA, Gainesville, Florida, United States
  • D.C. Tsui
    Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, United States
  • K. von Klitzing
    Max Planck Institut (MPI) für Festkörperforschung, Stuttgart, Germany
  • H. Zabel
    Ruhr University Bochum, Bochum, Germany

Editorial Board

  • S. Chichibu
    Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
  • A. Fiore
    University of Technology Eindhoven, Eindhoven, Netherlands
  • S. V. Ivanov
    Physical-Technical Institute named after A F Ioffe RAS, Sankt Peterburg, Russian Federation
  • Y. Kawakami
    Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
  • A. Lorke
    Universität Duisburg-Essen, Faculty of Mathematics, Essen, Germany
  • R.W. Martin
    University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • G.A. Wurtz
    King's College London, London, United Kingdom

Editor Emeritus

  • J.D. Dow