The past few decades have seen outstanding advances in the use of composite materials in structural applications. There can be little doubt that, within engineering circles, composites have revolutionised traditional design concepts and made possible an unparalleled range of new and exciting possibilities as viable materials for construction. Composite Structures, an International Journal, disseminates knowledge between users, manufacturers, designers and researchers involved in structures or structural components manufactured using composite materials.

The journal publishes papers which contribute to knowledge in the use of composite materials in engineering structures. Papers deal with design, research and development studies, experimental investigations, theoretical analysis and fabrication techniques relevant to the application of composites in load-bearing components for assemblies, ranging from individual components such as plates and shells to complete composite structures.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • A. J. M. Ferreira
    Depto. de Engenharia Mecanica, Universidade do Porto, Rua Dr Roberto Frias, 4200-465, Porto, Portugal

Associate Editor

  • H. Hu
    Wuhan University, Wuhan, China

Founding Editor

  • I. Marshall

Editorial Board

  • S. Abrate
    Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, Carbondale, Illinois, USA
  • S. Adali
    School of Psychology, Durban, South Africa
  • R. Akkerman
    University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands
  • W.M. Banks
    University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
  • W. Becker
    Technische Universität Darmstadt, Darmstadt, Germany
  • S. Belouettar
    Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Luxembourg
  • E. Carrera
    Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy
  • B. Castanié
    INSA Toulouse, France
  • S.H. Chang
    Chung-Ang University, Seoul, The Republic of Korea
  • L. Chen
    National Cheng Kung University, Tainan City, Taiwan, ROC
  • J.R. Correia
    University of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal
  • R. Degenhardt
    German Aerospace Center (DLR), Braunschweig, Germany
  • P. Gaudenzi
    Università di Roma "La Sapienza", Roma, Italy
  • E. Jansen
    University of Hannover, Germany
  • R. Jones
    Monash University, Clayton, Australia
  • T. Keller
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
  • T. Kubiak
    Lodz University of Technology, Poland
  • D.G. Lee
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology (KAIST), Yuseong-Gu, Daejeon, The Republic of Korea
  • J. Leng
    Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin, China
  • C. McCarthy
    University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
  • M. McCarthy
    University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
  • A. Miravete
    Universidad de Zaragoza, Zaragoza, Spain
  • E.V. Morozov
    UNSW Australia, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
  • A. Muliana
    Texas A&M University, Texas, USA
  • Y. Narita
    Hokkaido Institute of Technology, Sapporo, Japan
  • O. Polit
    Universite Paris Ouest, France
  • M.S Qatu
    Central Michigan University, Michigan, USA
  • J.N. Reddy
    Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
  • C. Santiuste
    Universidad Carlos III de Madrid, Spain
  • F. Scarpa
    University of Bristol, Bristol, England, UK
  • H-S. Shen
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China
  • M. Şimşek
    Yıldız Teknik Üniversitesi, Turkey
  • Z. Tao
    Harbin University of Science and Technology, Harbin, China
  • O.T. Thomsen
    Aalborg University, Aalborg Øst, Denmark
  • F. Tornabene
    University of Bologna, Italy
  • G. Turvey
    Lancaster University, Lancaster, England, UK
  • A. Waas
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
  • P. Weaver
    University of Bristol, Bristol, England, UK
  • X. Yao
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • S. Yu
    Tsinghua University, China