Composites Part B: Engineering publishes impactful research of high quality on composite materials, supported by fundamental mechanics and materials science and engineering approaches. Targeted research may cover a range of length scales from nano, over micro and meso to full product/structure level, with a focus on Engineering embracing high performance applications spanning from low volume/high cost to high volume/low cost composite development.

The Journal aims to provide a forum for the prompt publication of original and high quality research, with emphasis on design, development, modelling, validation and manufacturing of engineering details and concepts. Basic research papers are welcomed as well as proposals for review articles. Authors are encouraged to address challenges across application areas, such as (but not limited to) aerospace, automotive and other surface transportation, energy (renewable applications encouraged), infrastructure, off-shore, maritime, health care technology, and recreational products.

Current topics of key interest to the readers of the Journal include all aspects related to manufacturing, design, validation, characterisation/testing, performance, application and sustainability of composite materials, and including functional and smart composite materials, novel composite material concepts, and also biomimetics and bio-based composites.

Editorial board


  • Hao Wang
    University of Southern Queensland Centre for Future Materials Research, Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
  • Uday Kumar Vaidya PhD
    The University of Tennessee System, Knoxville, 37996 USA, AND Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN 37932 USA


  • S. Feih
    Singapore Institute of Manufacturing Technology, Innovis, Singapore
  • L. Feo
    University of Salerno, Fisciano, Italy
  • J. H. Lee
    Jeonbuk National University, Jeonju-si, Korea, Republic of
  • O.T. Thomsen
    University of Bristol Department of Aerospace Engineering, Bristol, United Kingdom
  • C. Zhang
    Georgia Institute of Technology, School of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Atlanta, Georgia, United States

Editorial Associate

  • L. Ge
    University of Southern Queensland Centre for Future Materials Research, Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia

Editorial Board

  • A.L. Araújo
    University of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal
  • A. Arias
    University Carlos III of Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • Y. Bai
    Monash University, Clayton, Victoria, Australia
  • D. Bhattacharya
    The University of Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
  • C. Binetruy
    Central College Nantes, Nantes, France
  • V. Birman
    Missouri University of Science and Technology, Rolla, Missouri, United States
  • R. Butler
    University of Bath Department of Mechanical Engineering, Bath, United Kingdom
  • M. Godlewski
    Polish Academy of Sciences, Warszawa, Poland
  • Jihua Gou
    University of Central Florida, Orlando, FL, United States
  • V. Gribniak
    Vilnius Gediminas Technical University, Vilnius, Lithuania
  • J. Gu
    Northwestern Polytechnical University School of Science, Xi'an, China
  • N. Gupta
    New York University Tandon School of Engineering, Brooklyn, New York, United States
  • M. Ionita
    Polytechnic University of Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
  • D. Jack
    Baylor University, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Waco, Texas, United States
  • M. Kawai
    University of Tsukuba, Department of Engineering Mechanics, Tsukuba, Japan
  • Nam Hoon Kim
    Jeonbuk National University, Jeonju-si, Korea, Republic of
  • A. Kiziltas
    Ford Motor Company, Department of Sustainability and Emerging Materials, Dearborn, Michigan, United States
  • S.N. Leung
    York University, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Guoqiang Li
    Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, LA, United States
  • Y. Li
    Tongji University School of Aerospace Engineering and Applied Mechanics, Shanghai, China
  • G. Lu
    Swinburne University of Technology, Hawthorn, Victoria, Australia
  • R. Luciano
    University of Cassino and Southern Lazio, Cassino, Italy
  • A. Mosallam
    University of California Irvine, Irvine, California, United States
  • V. -H. Nguyen
    Modelling and Multiscale Simulation Laboratory, Marne La Vallee, France
  • I. Oh
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea, Republic of
  • P. Oliver
    Clement Ader Institute, Toulouse, France
  • W. van Paepegem
    Ghent University, Gent, Belgium
  • Y.B. Park
    Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology, Ulsan, Korea, Republic of
  • R. Penna
    University of Salerno, Fisciano, Italy
  • M.J. Pindera
    University of Virginia, Charlottesville, VA, United States
  • Y.D.S. Rajapakse
    Office of Naval Research, Arlington, Virginia, United States
  • J. Sankar
    North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
  • A.H. Sofiyev
    Suleyman Demirel University, Isparta, Turkey
  • P Song
    University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba, Australia
  • B. F. Sørensen
    Technical University of Denmark, Kgs Lyngby, Denmark
  • G. Sun
    Hunan University State Key Laboratory of Advanced Design and Manufacturing for Vehicle Body, Changsha, China
  • C.P. Tsui
    The Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Hong Kong, China
  • A. Turon
    University of Girona, Girona, Spain
  • Shiren Wang
    TEXAS TECH UNIVERSITY, Lubbock, TX, United States
  • N. Wu
    University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
  • D. B. Xiong
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University State Key Laboratory of Metal Matrix Composites, Shanghai, China
  • F. Xu
    Donghua University, Shanghai, China
  • Z. Zhang
    University of Southern Queensland, Toowoomba, Australia
  • J. Zhu
    Ningbo Institute of Industrial Technology Chinese Academy of Sciences, Ningbo, China