EFM covers a broad range of topics in fracture mechanics to be of interest and use to both researchers and practitioners. Contributions are welcome which address the fracture behavior of conventional engineering material systems as well as newly emerging material systems. Contributions on developments in the areas of mechanics and materials science strongly related to fracture mechanics are also welcome. Papers on fatigue are welcome if they treat the fatigue process using the methods of fracture mechanics.

The Editors especially solicit contributions which synthesize experimental and theoretical-computational studies yielding results with direct engineering significance.

Editorial board


  • A.R. Ingraffea
    Cornell University, Ithaca, New York, USA
  • M. Kuna
    Technische Universität Bergakademie Freiberg, Freiberg, Germany
  • X.Q. Feng
    Tsinghua University, China

Honorary Editors

  • K.-H. Schwalbe
    Lüneburg, Germany
  • R.H. Dodds, Jr.
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, USA

Founding Editor

  • G.R. Irwin
    University of Maryland, Maryland, USA
  • P.C. Paris
    Washington University, Missouri, USA

Editorial Advisory Board

  • L. Banks-Sills
    Tel Aviv University, Ramat Aviv, Israel
  • S. Beretta
    Politecnico di Milano, Milan, Italy
  • J.J. Besson
    Ecole Nationale Superieure des Mines, Evry Cedex, France
  • B. Blackman
    Imperial College London, London, England, UK
  • A. Carpinteri
    Politecnico di Torino, Torino, Italy
  • W. Curtin
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Switzerland
  • I. Dlouhy
    The Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic and Brno University of Technology, Brno, Czech Republic
  • A. Dyskin
    University of Western Australia, Crawley, Western Australia, Australia
  • M. Elices
    Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (UPM), Madrid, Spain
  • G. Glinka
    University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • J.A. Joyce
    U.S. Naval Academy, Annapolis, Maryland, USA
  • Y.-J. Kim
    Korea University, Seoul, The Republic of Korea
  • T. Kitamura
    Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
  • J.D. Landes
    University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
  • F. Minami
    Osaka University, Suita-Shi, Japan
  • N. Moes
    Ecole Centrale de Nantes, Nantes, France
  • R. Narasimhan
    Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
  • J.C. Newman
    Mississippi State University, Mississippi, Mississippi, USA
  • N.P. O'Dowd
    University of Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
  • T. Pardoen
    Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL), Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
  • R. Pippan
    Austrian Acad Sci & Inst Metal, Leoben, Austria
  • S. Rahman
    University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa, USA
  • R.O. Ritchie
    University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, California, USA
  • C. Ruggieri
    University of São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
  • A. Saxena
    University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
  • M. Scibetta
    SCK.CEN, Mol, Belgium
  • V. Shlyannikov
    Russian Academy of Sciences, Kazan, Russian Federation
  • R. Singh
    Monash University, Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
  • Z. Suo
    Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • M. Sutton
    University of South Carolina, Columbia, South Carolina, USA
  • K. Wallin
    VTT Technical Research Centre of Finland, Finland
  • H. Yuan
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • U. Zerbst
    Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und Prüfung (BAM), Berlin, Germany
  • Z.L. Zhang
    Norwegian University of Science & Technology NTNU, Trondheim, Norway