The International Journal of Mechanical Sciences (IJMS) is an international forum for the publication and dissemination of original work which contributes to greater scientific understanding of the main disciplines underpinning the mechanical, civil and material engineering sciences.

Original contributions providing insight into the use of analytical, computational (e.g. FEM, BEM, mesh-free methods and others) modelling methods for rigid-body mechanics (e.g. dynamics, vibration, stability), structural mechanics, metal forming, behaviour and application of advanced materials (metals, composite, cellular, smart etc.), impact mechanics, strain localization and other effects of nonlinearity (e.g. large deflections, plasticity, fracture etc.), fluid mechanics (external and internal flows), tribology, thermodynamics and materials processing generally form the core of the journal contents.

The International Journal of Mechanical Sciences does not accept for publication material which quite specifically belongs with other established specialist journals. Papers whose concern is primarily with mathematical or computational techniques, developed within a general framework and not aimed at any specific engineering application, are not requested. Similarly, papers whose content is purely descriptive or empirical and which do not make any scientific contribution, will not be considered. Comparison with experiments/tests conducted by the authors or others to validate the main contribution of the paper are strongly encouraged, however design-based studies, based on established formulae and methods, are outside our scope and should not be submitted to the International Journal of Mechanical Sciences.

Only original, innovative and novel papers will be considered for publication in the International Journal of Mechanical Sciences and before considering their work, authors are required to confirm that their paper has not been submitted to any other journal in English or any other language. Occasionally, 'Letters to the Editor' are considered.

Editorial board


  • M. Wiercigroch
    University of Aberdeen Centre for Applied Dynamics Research, Aberdeen, United Kingdom

Emeritus Editor-in-Chief

  • S. R. Reid
    University of Aberdeen, Aberdeen, United Kingdom
  • K. Davey
    The University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom

Associate Editors

  • W. Chen
    Zhejiang University Department of Engineering Mechanics, Hangzhou, China
  • H. Huang
    University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • H.F. Oztop
    Firat University, Elazığ, Turkey
  • M. Savi
    Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro
  • M. Wang
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Q. Wang
    Southern University of Science and Technology, Shenzhen, China

Advisory Board

  • C.R. Calladine
    University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • N.A. Fleck
    University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • J.W. Hutchinson
    Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts, USA
  • N. Jones
    University of Liverpool, Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • T. Kapitaniak
    Lodz University of Technology, Lodz, Poland
  • T.J. Lu
    Nanjing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics, Nanjing, China
  • R. McMeeking
    University of California Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, California, USA
  • J.E. Mottershead
    University of Liverpool, Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • G. Rega
    University of Rome La Sapienza, Roma, Italy
  • C. Soares
    University of Lisbon, Lisbon, Portugal
  • P.D. Spanos
    Rice University, Dept. of Civil & Mechanical Engineering, Houston, Texas, USA
  • V. Tvergaard
    Technical University of Denmark, Denmark
  • Tongxi Yu
    The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Clear Water Bay, Kowloon, Hong Kong

Editorial Board Members

  • S. Abrate
    Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Carbondale, Illinois, United States
  • A.G. Atkins
    University of Reading, Reading, United Kingdom
  • B. Balachandran
    University of Maryland at College Park Department of Mechanical Engineering, College Park, Maryland, United States
  • J.R. Barber
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
  • M. Batista
    University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • A. Chatterjee
    Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
  • C. Chen
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • M. Ciavarella
    Polytechnic University of Bari Centre of Excellence in Computational Mechanics, Bari, Italy
  • O. Civalek
    Akdeniz University, Antalya, Turkey
  • V. S. Deshpande
    University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom
  • G. Genin
    Washington University in St Louis, Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
  • H. Huh
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Republic of Korea
  • D. Hui
    University of New Orleans, New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
  • D. Karagiozova
    Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria
  • A.W. Leissa
    OHIO STATE UNIVERSITY, Columbus, Ohio, United States
  • S. Lenci
    Polytechnic University of Marche, Ancona, Italy
  • S. Li
    University of Nottingham, Nottingham, United Kingdom
  • C. Liu
    Peking University, Beijing, China
  • G. Lu PhD
    Swinburne University of Technology, Hawthorn, Victoria, Australia
  • D.A. Nethercot
    Imperial College London, London, United Kingdom
  • N. Ohno
    Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan
  • K. Osakada
    Osaka University Graduate School of Engineering Science School of Engineering Science, Toyonaka, Japan
  • D. Roy
    Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
  • T. Siegmund
    Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana, United States
  • Y. Tomita
    Kobe University, Nada, Japan
  • G. Turvey
    Lancaster University, Lancaster, United Kingdom
  • A.M. Zenkour
    King Abdulaziz University, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia