The purpose of the journal is to report original research on all aspects of plastic deformation, damage and fracture behaviour of isotropic as well as anisotropic solids, including the thermodynamics of plasticity and fracture, continuum theory, and macroscopic as well as microscopic phenomena.

The topics of interest include plastic behaviour of single crystals and polycrystalline metals, ceramics, rocks and soils, composites, nanocrystalline and microelectronics materials, shape memory alloys, ferroelectric ceramics, thin films and polymers, as well as plasticity aspects of failure and fracture mechanics. Significant experimental, numerical or theoretical contributions advancing the understanding of plastic behaviour of solids are of special interest, together with studies relating macroscopic to the microscopic behaviour of solids. Papers on modeling of finite nonlinear elastic deformation, with similarities to modeling of plastic deformation, are also welcome.

The Journal will contain research papers, review articles, research notes, letters to the editor, and academic advertisements (books, journals, conferences, and symposia). Strain-rate dependent and strain-rate independent constitutive models to predict observed phemonena during quasi-static, dynamic or cyclic thermo-mechanical loading, behaviour of granular or porous solids under high confining pressures and at high temperatures, multiscale modeling of various deformation mechanisms (dislocation, twinning, and phase transformation), and models with capability for predicting the behaviour of composite materials based onknown plastic behaviour of matrix and fibers in such materials, are some examples of the main themes of this journal. Revealing applications of the new models of plasticity, including modelling of the observed phenomena in metal forming processes are also of interest.

Editorial board


  • Akhtar Khan
    University of Maryland Baltimore, Baltimore, Maryland, United States

Associate Editors

  • Sean R. Agnew
    University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
  • Curt A. Bronkhorst
    University of Wisconsin Madison, Madison, Wisconsin, United States
  • Alfonso Ngan
    University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
  • Jeong Whan Yoon
    Deakin University, Victoria, Australia

Editorial Consultants

  • Lallit Anand
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • Frederic Barlat
    Pohang University of Science and Technology, Graduate Inst. of Ferrous Technology, Gyeongbuk, Korea, Republic of
  • David McDowell
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Nobutada Ohno
    Nagoya University, Nagoya, Japan
  • George Voyiadjis
    Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
  • Hussein Zbib
    Washington State University, Pullman, Washington, United States

Editorial Advisory Board

  • Yoshiteru Aoyagi
    Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
  • Stéphane Berbenni
    LEM3, University of Lorraine, France
  • Jacques Besson
    Ecole Nationale Superieure des Mines, Centre de Materiaux, France
  • Irene Beyerlein
    University of California at Santa Barbara Department of Mechanical Engineering, Santa Barbara, California, United States
  • Michael Brunig
    University of the Federal Forces Munich, Neubiberg, Germany
  • Laurent Capolungo
    Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
  • Ellen Kathleen Cerreta
    Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
  • Le Khanh Chau
    Ruhr University Bochum, Bochum, Germany
  • Shi-Hoon Choi
    Sunchon National University, Suncheon, Korea, Republic of
  • Martin Crimp
    Michigan State University, East Lansing, Michigan, United States
  • Laurent Delannay
    Catholic University of Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
  • Issam Doghri
    Catholic University of Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
  • Huiling Duan
    Peking University, Beijing, China
  • Patrick Franciosi
    CNRS-UPR3407, LSPM, France
  • Ming Wang Fu
    Hong Kong Polytechnic University, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Somnath Ghosh
    Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Maryland, United States
  • Takayuki Hama
    Kyoto University, Japan
  • Dongchan Jang
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Republic of Korea
  • Antoine Jerusalem
    University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Yanyao Jiang
    University of Nevada Reno, Reno, Nevada, United States
  • Guozheng Kang
    Southwest Jiaotong University, Dept. of Applied Mechanics and Engineering, Sichuan, China
  • Leo Kestens
    Ghent University, Gent, Belgium
  • Marko Knezevic
    University of New Hampshire, Durham, New Hampshire, United States
  • Mitsutoshi Kuroda
    Yamagata University, Yamagata, Japan
  • Stelios Kyriakides
    University of Texas at Austin, Austin, Texas, United States
  • Jeffrey W. Kysar
    Columbia University, New York, New York, United States
  • Ricardo Lebensohn
    Los Alamos National Laboratory, Los Alamos, New Mexico, United States
  • Myoung-Gyu Lee
    Seoul National University, Gwanak-gu, Republic of Korea
  • Valery Levitas
    Iowa State University, Ames, Iowa, United States
  • Bin Liu
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • Tsuyoshi Mayama
    Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan
  • Dirk Mohr
    Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich, Switzerland
  • François Nicot
    National Research Institute for Environmental and Agricultural Science and Technology Grenoble, St-Martin-d'Hères cedex, France
  • Mark-Jerzy Pindera
    University of Virginia, Charlottesville, Virginia, United States
  • Arunachalam Rajendran
    University of Mississippi, Patterson School of Accountancy, Oxford, Mississippi, United States
  • Jianfu Shao
    Université des Sciences et Technologies de Lille (Lille I), Lille, France
  • Mahesh Sivasambu
    Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai, India
  • Jian Wang
    University of Nebraska-Lincoln, Lincoln, Nebraska, United States