Tribology is the science of rubbing surfaces and contributes to every facet of our everyday life, from live cell friction to engine lubrication and seismology. As such tribology is truly multidisciplinary and this extraordinary breadth of scientific interest is reflected in the scope of Tribology International.

Tribology International seeks to publish original research papers of the highest scientific quality to provide an archival resource for scientists from all backgrounds. Written contributions are invited reporting experimental and modelling studies both in established areas of tribology and emerging fields. Scientific topics include the physics or chemistry of tribo-surfaces, bio-tribology, surface engineering and materials, contact mechanics, nano-tribology, lubricants and hydrodynamic lubrication.

Editorial board


  • M. Fillon
    CNRS - Université de Poitiers - ENSMA, Futuroscope Chasseneuil, France
  • H. Liang
    Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, USA
  • W. M. Liu
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Lanzhou, China

International Advisory Editorial Board

  • M .J. Adams
    University of Birmingham, Birmingham, UK
  • M.D. Bermudez
    Universidad Politecnica de Cartagena, Cartagena, Murcia, Spain
  • B. Bou-Saïd
    INSA de Lyon, Villeurbanne, France
  • G. Carbone
    Politecnico di Bari, Bari, Italy
  • A. Chateauminois
    École Supérieure de Physique et de Chimie Industrielles (ESPCI), Paris, France
  • D. Dini
    Imperial College London, London, England, UK
  • K. Friedrich
    Technische Universität Kaiserslautern, Kaiserslautern, Germany
  • S. Hsu
    George Washington University, Ashburn, Virginia, USA
  • M.M. Khonsari
    Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
  • A.A. Lubrecht
    INSA de Lyon, Villeurbanne, France
  • J. Luo
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • A. Martini
    University of California at Merced, Merced, California, USA
  • K. Miyoshi
    Nippon Institute of Technology (NIT), Saitama, Japan
  • M. Priest
    University of Bradford, Bradford, UK
  • S. K. Sinha
    Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Delhi, New Delhi, India
  • N.D. Spencer
    Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
  • G. W. Stachowiak
    Curtin University, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • M. Stack
    University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, UK
  • J. Sugimura
    Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan
  • R.J.K. Wood
    University of Southampton, Highfield, Southampton, UK
  • Z. Zhang
    National Center for Nanoscience and Technology, Beijing, China
  • F. Zhou
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Lanzhou, China