The journal Carbon is an international multidisciplinary forum for communicating scientific advances in the field of carbon materials, including low-dimensional carbon-based nanostructures. The journal reports new, relevant and significant findings related to the formation, structure, properties, behaviors, and technological applications of carbons, which are a broad class of ordered or disordered solid phases composed primarily of elemental carbon. These materials can be either synthetic or of natural origin, and include, but are not limited to: carbon black; carbon fibers and filaments; carbon nanotubes; diamond and diamond-like carbon; fullerenes; glassy carbon; graphite; graphene; graphene-oxide; porous carbons; pyrolytic carbon; and other sp2 and non-sp2 hybridized carbon systems.

Papers may also be considered by the Editors provided: (i) the carbon component is the major focus of the paper's scientific content, for example, in composites (including vertical stacking of two-dimensional (2D) systems); or (ii) the focus is on organic substances if they are new precursors for carbon materials with novel characteristics; or, (iii) relate to carbon compounds such as nitrides and carbides (e.g. C3N4, MXenes) if the new properties or findings can be attributed to the carbon compositions.

Relevant application areas for carbon materials include, but are not limited to: biology and medicine; catalysis; electronic, optoelectronic, spintronic, high-frequency, and photonic devices; energy storage and conversion systems; environmental applications and water treatment; smart materials and systems; and, structural and thermal applications.

In addition to regular issues, Virtual Special Issues on selected topics are organized from time to time in this journal. Each submission will be evaluated using the same editorial process as that used for regular submissions, and once accepted, will be published online as soon as possible and featured as part of the Virtual Special Issue. To find out more about the ongoing special issues, please refer to the Announcement section of the journal homepage.

Carbon is the companion title to the open access journal Carbon Trends.