The Journal of Electron Spectroscopy and Related Phenomena publishes experimental, theoretical and applied work in the field of electron spectroscopy and electronic structure, involving techniques which use high energy photons (>10 eV) or electrons as probes or detected particles in the investigation.

The journal encourages contributions in the general area of atomic, molecular, ionic, liquid and solid state spectroscopy carried out using electron impact, synchrotron radiation (including free electron lasers) and short wavelength lasers. Papers using photoemission and other techniques, in which synchrotron radiation, Free Electron Lasers, laboratory lasers or other sources of ionizing radiation, combined with electron velocity analysis are especially welcome. The materials properties addressed include characterization of ground and excited state properties as well as time resolved electron dynamics.

The individual techniques of electron spectroscopy include photoelectron spectroscopy of both outer and inner shells; inverse photoemission; spin-polarised photoemission; time resolved 2-photon photoemission, resonant and non-resonant Auger spectroscopy including ion neutralization studies; edge techniques (EXAFS, NEXAFS,...) , resonant and non-resonant inelastic X-ray scattering (RIXS), spectro-microscopy, high resolution electron energy loss spectroscopy; electron scattering and resonance electron capture; electron spectroscopy in conjunction with microscopy; penning ionization spectroscopy including scanning tunneling spectroscopy; theoretical treatments of the photoemission, X-ray emission, Auger, energy loss and Penning ionization processes. Contributions on instrumentation and technique development, date acquisition - analysis - quantification are also welcome.

Subject areas covered include spectroscopic characterization of materials and processes concerning:
- surfaces, interfaces, and thin films;
- atomic and molecular physics, clusters;
- semiconductor physics and chemistry;
- materials for photovoltaics;
- materials science including: metal surfaces, nanoparticles, ceramics, strongly correlated systems, polymers, biomaterials and other organic films;
- catalysis

Editorial board


  • W. Eberhardt
    Inst. für Optik und Atomare Physik, Technische Universität Berlin (TUB), Straße des 17. Juni 135, 10623, Berlin, Germany
  • A.P. Hitchcock
    Brockhouse Institute for Materials Research (BIMR) and Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, McMaster University, 1280 Main St., Hamilton, L8S 4M1, Ontario, Canada, Fax: +1-905-5212773
  • N. Kosugi
    Inst. for Molecular Science (IMS), National Institutes of Natural Sciences, Nishigo-Naka 38, Myodaiji, 444-8585, Okazaki, Japan, Fax: +81-564-54-2254

Honorary Board

  • C.R. Brundle
    California, USA
  • G.E. McGuire
    Research Triangle Park, North Carolina, USA
  • T. Ohta
    Shiga, Japan
  • J.-J. Pireaux
    Namur, Belgium

Editorial Board

  • H.W. Ade
    North Carolina State University, Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
  • P.S. Bagus
    University of North Texas, Denton, Texas, USA
  • H. Daimon
    Nara Institute of Science and Technology, Ikoma Nara, Japan
  • F.M.F. de Groot
    Universiteit Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
  • H. Ebert
    Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München (LMU), Munich, Germany
  • C.S. Fadley
    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, California, USA
  • D.L. Feng
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • X. Gao
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Shanghai, China
  • M. Grioni
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
  • U. Hergenhahn
    Max Planck Institut (MPI) für Plasmaphysik, Greifswald, Germany
  • D.-J. Huang
    National Synchrotron Radiation Reserach Center (NSRRC), , Hsinchu, Taiwan
  • S. Kera
    Institute for Molecular Science, Okazaki, Japan
  • A. Kimura
    Hiroshima University, Higashi-Hiroshima, Japan
  • K.T. Leung
    University of Waterloo, Waterloo, Ontario, Canada
  • C. Miron
    Synchrotron Soleil, Gif-sur-Yvette Cedex, France
  • S. Molodtsov
    European X-ray Free Electron Laser (XFEL), Hamburg, Germany
  • A. Naves de Brito
    Universidade Estadual de Campinas (UNICAMP), Campinas, Brazil
  • D. Prendergast
    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Berkeley, California, USA
  • D.D. Sarma
    Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India
  • T. Schmitt
    Paul Scherrer Institut (PSI), Villigen, Switzerland
  • S. Suzer
    Bilkent University, Ankara, Turkey
  • M. Vos
    Australian National University, Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
  • P. Weightman
    University of Liverpool, Liverpool, UK
  • W. Werner
    Technische Universität Wien, Vienna, Austria
  • H.W. Yeom
    Pohang University of Science and Technology, Nam-gu, Pohang, The Republic of Korea
  • M. Zharnikov
    Ruprecht-Karls-Universität Heidelberg, Heidelberg, Germany