Materials Letters has an open access mirror journal Materials Letters: X, sharing the same aims and scope, editorial team, submission system and rigorous peer review.

Materials Letters is dedicated to publishing novel, cutting edge reports of broad interest to the materials community. The journal provides a forum for materials scientists and engineers, physicists, and chemists to rapidly communicate on the most important topics in the field of materials.

Contributions include, but are not limited to, a variety of topics such as:

Materials - Metals and alloys, amorphous solids, ceramics, composites, polymers, semiconductors
Applications - Structural, opto-electronic, magnetic, medical, MEMS, sensors, smart
Characterization - Analytical, microscopy, scanning probes, nanoscopic, optical, electrical, magnetic, acoustic, spectroscopic, diffraction
Novel Materials - Micro and nanostructures (nanowires, nanotubes, nanoparticles), nanocomposites, thin films, superlattices, quantum dots.
Processing - Crystal growth, thin film processing, sol-gel processing, mechanical processing, assembly, nanocrystalline processing.
Properties - Mechanical, magnetic, optical, electrical, ferroelectric, thermal, interfacial, transport, thermodynamic
Synthesis - Quenching, solid state, solidification, solution synthesis, vapor deposition, high pressure, explosive

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • A.R. Boccaccini MSc, Dr.-Ing. habil.
    University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Erlangen, Germany


  • R. Arroyave
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Texas A & M University, 119 Mechanical Engineering Office Bldg, College Station, Texas, 77843-3123, USA
  • M. Carboni
    LHYS Laboratoire des systèmes HYbrides pour la Séparation, Institut de Chimie Séparative de Marcoule, Bât. 426 – L1-21 – BP 17171, F-30207, Bagnols/Ceze cedex, France
  • F. L. de Souza
    Centro de Ciências Naturais e Humanas, Laboratory of Alternative Energy and Nanomaterials, Federal University of ABC (UFABC), Av.dos Estados, 5001-Santa Terezinha, Santo Andre, 09210-580, São Paulo, Brazil
  • O.A. Graeve
    Dept. of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, University of California at San Diego (UCSD), 9500 Gilman Drive, La Jolla, San Diego, California, 92093-0411, USA
  • J. Hojo
    Faculty of Engineering, Kyushu University, 6-1 Kasuga-koen, Kasuga-city, 816-8580, Japan
  • V.V. Kharton
    Institute of Solid State Physics RAS, 2 Academician Osipyan Str., Chernogolovka, 142432, Moscow District, Russian Federation
  • I.V. Kityk
    Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Inst. of Optoelectronics and Measuring Systems, Politechnika Czestochowska, ul. Armii Krajowej 17, 42-201, Częstochowa, Poland
  • S.E. Rodil
    Instituto de Investigaciones en Materiales, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), Postal 70 360 cd, 04510, Mexico City, Mexico
  • B. Straumal
    Institute of Solid State Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences, Ac. Ossipyan str.2, 142432, Chernogolovka, Russian Federation
  • K.G. Webber
    Department of Materials and Science, FG Glas and Keramik, Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Martensstr. 5, 91058, Erlangen, Germany
  • A.F.W. Willoughby
    Engineering Materials, University of Southampton, University Road, SO17 1BJ, Highfield, Southampton, England, UK
  • J-M. Yang
    Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA), Los Angeles, California, CA 90095-1595, USA
  • Y.F. Zheng
    Department of Materials Science and Engineering, College of Engineering, Peking University, No.5 Yi-He-Yuan Road, Hai-Dian District, 100871, Beijing, China

Managing Editor

  • Alessandro Polini
    CNR NANOTEC - Istituto di Nanotecnologia del CNR, c/o Campus Universitario Ecotekne, via Monteroni, 73100, Lecce, ITALY

Associate Editorial Board

  • Z. Ahmad
    De Montfort University, Leicester, England, UK
  • K. Aifantis
    University of Florida, Gainsville, Florida, USA
  • A. Bellosi
    Istituto di Scienza e Tecnologia dei Materiali Ceramici (ISTEC), Faenza, Italy
  • J. Blaker
    University of Manchester, Manchester, England, UK
  • B. Bokstein
    National University of Science and Technology, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • R. H. R. Castro
    University of California, Davis, Davis, California, USA
  • M. Cinibulk
    Wright-Patterson Air Force Base, AFB, Dayton, Ohio, USA
  • P. Colombo
    Università degli Studi di Padova, Padova, Italy
  • N. Gao
    University of Southampton, Southampton, England, UK
  • H. Gleiter
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, Germany
  • A. Glezer
    National University of Science and Technology MISiS, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • T. Goto
    Tohoku University, Aoba-ku, Sendai, Japan
  • D.C. Greenspan
    Spinode Consulting, Gainesville, Florida, USA
  • A. Hozumi
    National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (AIST), Nagoya, Aichi, Japan
  • J. Jang
    National Central University, Taoyuan City, Taiwan
  • Y. Kaganovsky
    Bar-llan University, Ramat-Gan, Israel
  • P. Kao
    National Sun Yat-Sen University, Guangzhou, China
  • J.A. Kilner
    Imperial College London, London, England, UK
  • M. Lanagan
    Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • T. Laoui
    King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals, Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
  • X.G. Li
    University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Hefei, Anhui, China
  • Y.Y. Li
    City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong, China
  • T. Lopez
    Univ Autonoma Metropolitana, Mexico D.F., Mexico
  • Z.P. Lu
    University of Science and Technology Beijing, Beijing, China
  • X.L. Ma
    Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Sciences, Shenyang, China
  • J.F. Mano
    Universidade de Aveiro, Aveiro, Portugal
  • V. Novikov
    National University of Science and Technology, Moscow, Russian Federation
  • A. Orlov
    Stony Brook University, Stony Brook, New York, USA
  • P. Reed
    University of Southampton, Highfield, Southampton, England, UK
  • Y. Sakka
    National Institute of Materials Science, Ibaraki, Japan
  • M. Sayer
    Queen's University, Kingston, Ontario, Canada
  • J. Shen
    Intel Corporation, Chandler, Arizona, USA
  • T. Siegrist
    Florida State University, Tallahassee, Florida, USA
  • N. A. Stolwijk
    Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster, Münster, Germany
  • Y. Sugahara
    Waseda University, Tokyo, Japan
  • M. Wang
    The University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong, China
  • W.B. White
    Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • C. Zollfrank
    Technische Universität München, Straubing, Germany

Founding Editor

  • F.F.Y. Wang

Editor Emeritus

  • J.H. Wernick