Micron is an interdisciplinary forum for all work that involves new applications of microscopy or where advanced microscopy plays a central role. The journal will publish on the design, methods, application, practice or theory of microscopy and microanalysis, including reports on optical, electron-beam, X-ray microtomography, and scanning-probe systems. It also aims at the regular publication of review papers, short communications, as well as thematic issues on contemporary developments in microscopy and microanalysis. The journal embraces original research in which microscopy has contributed significantly to knowledge in biology, life science, nanoscience and nanotechnology, materials science and engineering.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Micron enables researchers to rapidly share their most exciting work with their colleagues. The expected time from submission to final decision is approximately 5 weeks.

Note to the authors
No changes in the list authors will be accepted during the review process or after acceptance unless such a claim is duly justified by the authors.

Editorial board


  • F. Braet
    The University of Sydney, Sydney, 2006, NSW 2006, Australia
  • R.F. Egerton
    University of Alberta, 11322 - 89 Avenue, Edmonton, T6G 2J1, Canada
  • R. Romani
    University of Perugia Department of Agricultural Food and Environmental Sciences, Borgo XX Giugno 72, 06100, Perugia, Italy

Editorial Board

  • P. Abellan
    CNRS, Jean Rouxel Institute of Materials in Nantes, Physics of Materials and Nanostructures group, Nantes, France
  • U. Aebi
    University of Basel, Basel, Switzerland
  • H. Assender
    University of Oxford, Oxford, United Kingdom
  • D. Bhella
    University of Glasgow MRC Virology Unit, Glasgow, United Kingdom
  • J. Billen
    KU Leuven Department of Biology, Leuven, Belgium
  • E.J. Boekema
    University of Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
  • G. Botton
    McMaster University, Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
  • G. Cox
    The University of Sydney Australian Centre for Microscopy & Microanalysis, Sydney, Australia
  • Y.F. Dufrêne
    Catholic University of Louvain, Louvain-la-Neuve, Belgium
  • H.E. Ehrlich
  • Roberta Galli
    Technische Universitat Dresden DRESDEN-concept e V, Dresden, Germany
  • A. Gregorc
    University of Maribor Faculty of Agriculture and Life Sciences, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • J.R. Harris
    Johannes Gutenberg University, Mainz, Germany
  • A. Holzenburg
    University of Texas Health Rio Grande Valley, School of Medicine, Department of Molecular Science, Harlingen, Texas, United States
  • B. P. Jena
    Wayne State University School of Medicine, Detroit, Michigan, United States
  • A. Kirkland
    University of Oxford Department of Materials, Oxford, United Kingdom
  • M. Lekka
    Henryka Niewodniczanskiego Institute of Nuclear Physics, Krakow, Poland
  • J. Lucocq
    University of St Andrews School of Medicine, St. Andrews, United Kingdom
  • H. Luensdorf
    Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Braunschweig, Germany
  • Q. Luo
    Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China
  • Colin Ophus
    Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory Molecular Foundry National Center for Electron Microscopy, Berkley, California, United States
  • J. Reyes Gasga
    UNAM Institute of Physics, Mexico D.F., Mexico
  • C. Rodenburg
    The University of Sheffield, Sheffield, United Kingdom
  • J. A. Slater
    Diamond Light Source, Didcot, United Kingdom
  • D. J. Taatjes
    University of Vermont, Burlington, Vermont, United States
  • M. Varela del Arco
    Complutense University of Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • J. Verbeeck
    University of Antwerp, Wilrijk-Antwerp, Belgium
  • P. Verkade
    University of Bristol, Bristol, United Kingdom
  • P. Xi
    Peking University Department of Biomedical Engineering, Beijing, China
  • Y. Zhu
    Brookhaven National Laboratory, Upton, New York, United States
  • J.M. Zuo
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Champaign, Illinois, United States