Progress in Energy and Combustion Science (PECS) publishes review articles on all aspects of energy and combustion science, providing a comprehensive in-depth overview of a particular topic.

While PECS spans the broad field of energy science, it focuses particularly on the fields of combustion and fuel science. Combustion has played an important role in the world's energy systems and will continue to do so in years to come. As time passes, technological demands evolve and change. For instance, the challenges we face today include conservation of energy, addressing the problem of global climate change, and environmental concerns, and together these require more efficient and cleaner combustion. Beyond energy, combustion plays an important role in process technology and materials science. PECS publishes reviews on all such topics, including concepts, methodologies, processes, and technology.

Reviews are by invitation of the editors only. If you have a suggestion for a review article, please do not submit your review article directly, but rather first submit a one-page summary to the appropriate editor, depending on your region, including the proposed title, an abstract, and a table of contents or outline of the review. If you are based in Europe, Middle East or South America please contact Christof Schulz. If you are based in North America, Asia Pacific or Africa please contact Hai Wang.

Editorial board


  • Hai Wang
    Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA
  • Christof Schulz
    Universität Duisburg-Essen, Duisburg, Germany

Editorial Board Members

  • Jeffrey M. Bergthorson
    McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Sébastien Candel
    University of Paris-Saclay, Châtenay-Malabry, France
  • Satya Chakravarthy
    Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai, India
  • Jacqueline H. Chen
    Sandia National Laboratories, Livermore, California, USA
  • Henry Curran
    National University of Ireland, Galway, Ireland
  • Philippe Dagaut
    National Center for Scientific Research, Orléans Cedex 2, France
  • Pascale Desgroux
    UMR 8522 CNRS/ Université Lille1, Villeneuve d'Ascq Cedex, France
  • Sergey Dorofeev
    FM Global, Norwood, Massachusetts, USA
  • Derek Dunn-Rankin
    University of California at Irvine, Irvine, California, USA
  • Fokion Egolfopoulos
    University of Southern California, Los Angeles, California, USA
  • Daniel C. Haworth
    Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA
  • In-Seuck Jeung
    Seoul National University (SNU), Seoul, The Republic of Korea
  • Bengt Johansson
    King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Thuwal, Saudi Arabia
  • Robert J. Kee
    Colorado School of Mines, Golden, Colorado, USA
  • Andreas Kempf
    University of Duisburg-Essen, Duisburg, Germany
  • Stephen J. Klippenstein
    Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois, USA
  • Katharina Kohse-Höinghaus
    University of Bielefeld, Bielefeld, Germany
  • Howard Levinsky
    University of Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
  • Tim Lieuwen
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, USA
  • Peter Lindstedt
    Imperial College London, London, England, UK
  • Kaoru Maruta
    Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan
  • Assaad R. Masri
    The University of Sydney, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Epaminondas Mastorakos
    University of Cambridge, Cambridge, England, UK
  • Gus Nathan
    University of Adelaide, Balhannah, South Australia, Australia
  • Amir Oliveira
    Federal University of Santa Catarina, Florianopolis, SC, Brazil
  • Alexei Poludnenko
    Naval Research Laboratory, Washington DC, USA
  • Sotiris Pratsinis
    Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich, Zürich, Switzerland
  • Fei Qi
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University, Shanghai, China
  • Volker Sick
    University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
  • Greg Smallwood
    National Research Council Canada (NRC), Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
  • Aldo Steinfeld
    ETH, Zürich, Switzerland
  • Stephen Tse
    Rutgers University, Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
  • Forman A. Williams
    University of California at San Diego (UCSD), La Jolla, California, USA
  • Richard Yetter
    Pennsylvania State University, University Park, Pennsylvania, USA

Founding Editor

  • Norman Chigier