Journal of Power Sources is the journal for researchers and technologists interested in all aspects of the science, technology and applications of sources of electrochemical power. Journal of Power Sources publishes original research and reviews about the science and applications of primary and secondary batteries, fuel cells, supercapacitors and photo-electrochemical cells.

Topics considered include the research, development and applications of nanomaterials and novel componentry for these devices.

Examples of applications of these electrochemical power sources include:
• Portable electronics
• Electric and Hybrid Electric Vehicles
• Uninterruptible Power Supply (UPS) systems
• Storage of renewable energy
• Satellites and deep space probes
• Boats and ships, drones and aircrafts
• Wearable energy storage systems

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center.

Authors are also welcome to submit to the journal?s open access companion title, Journal of Power Sources Advances.

Editorial board


  • Stefano Passerini
    Helmholtz Institute Ulm (HIU), Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Ulm, Germany


  • Catia Arbizzani
    Department of Chemistry, University of Bologna, Bologna, Italy
  • Ilias Belharouak
    Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee, United States
  • Jay Benziger
    Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, United States
  • Marian Chatenet
    University Grenoble Alpes, Grenoble, France
  • Minoru Inaba
    Doshisha University, Kyoto, Japan
  • Signe Kjelstrup
    Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Trondheim, Norway
  • Jie Li
    Polytechnic of Milan Department of Energy, Milano, Italy
  • Seung-Taek Myung
    Sejong University, Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Clara Santato
    Montreal Polytechnic, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • Yong-yao Xia
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • Jie Xiao
    Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington, United States
  • Yong Yang
    Xiamen University Department of Chemistry, Xiamen, China
  • Yan Yu
    University of Science and Technology of China Libraries, Hefei, China

Associate Editor

  • Stephen Creager
    Clemson University Department of Chemistry, Clemson, South Carolina, United States

Founding Editor

  • D.H. Collins

Editorial Assistant

  • Giuseppe Antonio Elia
    Helmholtz Nuclear Research Centre Karlsruhe, Karlsruhe, Germany

International Advisory Board

  • Takeshi Abe
    Department of Energy and Hydrocarbon Chemistry Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
  • Khalil Amine
    Argonne National Laboratory, Lemont, Illinois, United States
  • John Appleby
    Texas A&M University College Station, College Station, Texas, United States
  • Michel Armand
    Laboratory of Reactivity and Chemistry of Solids, Amiens, France
  • Kathryn Bullock
    C&D Technologies Inc., Blue Bell, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Paola Costamagna
    University of Genoa, Genova, Italy
  • Don Gervasio
    Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, United States
  • Ernesto Rafael González
    University of Sao Paulo Institute of Chemistry of Sao Carlos, SAO CARLOS, Brazil
  • Chi-Chang Hu
    National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan
  • Yong-Sheng Hu
    Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
  • Marina Mastragostino
    University of Bologna Academy of Sciences of the Institute of Bologna, Bologna, Italy
  • Ying Shirley Meng
    University of California San Diego, La Jolla, California, United States
  • Zempachi Ogumi
    Kyoto University, SACI & INNOV, Uji Campus, Kyoto, Japan
  • Tetsuya Osaka
    Waseda University Faculty of Science and Engineering Department of Applied Chemistry Polymer Chemistry, Shinjuku-Ku, Tokyo, Japan
  • Mark Salomon
    Little Silver, New Jersey, United States
  • Bruno Scrosati
    University of Rome La Sapienza, Roma, Italy
  • Gongquan Sun
    Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, Dalian, China
  • Yang-Kook Sun
    Hanyang University College of Engineering Department of Energy Engineering, Seongdong-gu, Korea, Republic of
  • Yung-Eun Sung
    Seoul National University School of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • Kuniaki Tatsumi
    National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology Battery Technology Research Division, Ikeda, Japan
  • Frank Walsh
    University of Southampton, Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Martin Winter
    University of Münster, Münster, Germany
  • Jeff Wolfenstine
    US Army Research Laboratory, Adelphi, Maryland, United States
  • Jun-ichi Yamaki
    Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan
  • Karim Zaghib
    Hydro-Quebec's Research Institute, Varennes, Quebec, Canada
  • Tianshou Zhao
    Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, Clear Water Bay, Hong Kong, China