Solar Energy Materials & Solar Cells is intended as a vehicle for the dissemination of research results on materials science and technology related to photovoltaic, photothermal and photoelectrochemical solar energy conversion. Materials science is taken in the broadest possible sense and encompasses physics, chemistry, optics, materials fabrication and analysis for all types of materials.

Of particular interest are:
Solar Cells, covering single crystal, polycrystalline and amorphous materials utilising homojunctions and heterojunctions, Schottky barriers, liquid junctions and their applications. Also of interest is analysis of component materials, individual cells and complete systems, including their economic aspects.
Photothermal Devices, in the broadest sense, including solar absorber devices, heat storage materials, radiative cooling systems and their applications.
Photoelectrochemical and Photochemical Devices, covering photoelectrodes, photocatalysis, photoconversion and solar desalination systems and their applications.
Optical Properties of materials, including light trapping, texturising, solar concentrators which include imaging and non-imaging optical collectors.
Light Control, including systems for energy efficient architecture and daylighting, chromogenics and smart windows.

The pertinent issues are comprehensive and encompass bulk materials, coatings and thin films and surface treatments, from basic as well as from applications-oriented and manufacturing related perspectives.

Manuscripts of general interest not being suitable for Solar Energy Materials and Solar Cells can be submitted to Refocus, which publishes magazine-style feature articles concerning all aspects of renewable energy. Please e-mail David Hopwood, Editor for further details ( and visit

Technical articles not specifically related to the materials aspects of Solar Energy conversion can be submitted to Solar Energy, the official journal of the International Solar Energy Society. For details, visit

Editorial board

Editor-in-Chief – Crystalline Silicon and Silicon Thin Film Solar Cells

  • Ivan Gordon
    Interuniversity Micro-Electronic Centre, Leuven, Belgium

Editor – CSP/Thermal Storage

  • Zhengguo Zhang
    South China University of Technology, Guangzhou, China

Editor – Space Photovoltaics and Emerging PV Concepts

  • Ignacio Rey-Stolle
    Polytechnic University of Madrid, Madrid, Spain

Editor – III-V Multi-junction Solar Cells, CPV and Economics of Solar Materials

  • Simon Philipps
    Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE, Freiburg, Germany

Editor - Non-Silicon Thin Film Solar Cell

  • Xavier Mathew
    Institute for Renewable Energy, Temixco, Morelos, Mexico

Editor - Optical and Electrical Properties

  • Aline Rougier
    Institute for Condensed Matter Chemistry Bordeaux, Pessac, France

Editor - Organic and Polymer Solar Cell

  • Frederik Krebs PhD
    Technical University of Denmark, Kgs Lyngby, Denmark

Editor - Thin Film Deposition, Oxide Materials & Device

  • Aryasomayajula Subrahmanyam
    Gandhi Institute of Technology and Management, Vishakapatnam, Andhra Pradesh, India

Emeritus Editor

  • Carl Lampert
    Star Science, Cotati, California, United States
  • Greg P. Smestad
    Sol Ideas Technology Development

Editorial Board

  • Anoop Agrawal
    AJJER LLC, Tucson, Arizona, United States
  • Markus Beck PhD
    Siva Power, San Jose, California, United States
  • Andreas Bett
    Fraunhofer Institute for Solar Energy Systems ISE, Freiburg, Germany
  • Robert Birkmire
    University of Delaware, Newark, Delaware, United States
  • Andrew Blakers
    Australian National University, Canberra, Australia
  • Dave Carlson
    BP America Inc, Houston, Texas, United States
  • Gavin Conibeer
    University of New South Wales, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • Ahmed Ennaoui
    Research Institute for Solar Energy and New Energies, Rabat, Morocco
  • Ana Inés Fernández
    University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain
  • Kostadinka Gesheva
    Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, Sofia, Bulgaria
  • Sophia Haussener
    Federal Polytechnic School of Lausanne, Lausanne, Switzerland
  • Michael Hutchins
    Sonnergy Ltd, Oxford, United Kingdom
  • Geoffrey Kinsey
    Fraunhofer USA Center for Sustainable Energy Systems CSE, Boston, Massachusetts, United States
  • Sarah Kurtz
    University of California Merced, Merced, California, United States
  • Antonio Luque
    Polytechnic University of Madrid, Madrid, Spain
  • Tom Markvart
    University of Southampton, Southampton, United Kingdom
  • Santo Martinuzzi
    Aix-Marseille Universite, Marseille, France
  • Nilgun Ozer
    San Francisco State University, San Francisco, California, United States
  • Terry Peterson PhD
    Solar Power Consulting, San Carlos, California, United States
  • Ajeet Rohatgi
    Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Harry Ruda
    University of Toronto, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
  • Bart Vermang
    Hasselt University, Diepenbeek, Belgium and Imec, Leuven, Belgium
  • Baojie Yan
    Rochester Hills, Michigan, 48309, United States