European Polymer Journal is dedicated to publishing work on fundamental and applied polymer chemistry and macromolecular materials. The journal covers all aspects of polymer synthesis, including polymerization mechanisms and chemical functional transformations, with a focus on novel polymers and the relationships between molecular structure and polymer properties. In addition, we welcome submissions on bio-based or renewable polymers, stimuli-responsive systems and polymer bio-hybrids. European Polymer Journal also publishes research on the biomedical application of polymers, including drug delivery and regenerative medicine. The main scope is covered but not limited to the following core research areas:

Polymer synthesis and functionalization
• Novel synthetic routes for polymerization, functional modification, controlled/living polymerization and precision polymers.
Stimuli-responsive polymers
• Including shape memory and self-healing polymers.
Supramolecular polymers and self-assembly
• Molecular recognition and higher order polymer structures.
Renewable and sustainable polymers
• Bio-based, biodegradable and anti-microbial polymers and polymeric bio-nanocomposites.
Polymers at interfaces and surfaces
• Chemistry and engineering of surfaces with biological relevance, including patterning, antifouling polymers and polymers for membrane applications.
Biomedical applications and nanomedicine
• Polymers for regenerative medicine, drug delivery molecular release and gene therapy

The scope of European Polymer Journal no longer includes Polymer Physics. We would strongly recommend that authors consider submitting Polymer Physics papers to our excellent sister title Polymer

Article Types and Submission
European Polymer Journal publishes the following article types: original research papers, review articles, featured articles, short communications and Research Insights. Please see our Guide for Authors for more information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Editorial board


  • G. J. Vancso
    University of Twente, Enschede, Netherlands


  • F. Du Prez (Polymer Chemistry and Functionalization)
    Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium
  • R. Hoogenboom (Polymer Chemistry and Self-Assembly)
    Ghent University, Ghent, Belgium
  • B. Klumperman (Polymer Chemistry and Biomacromolecules)
    Stellenbosch University, Matieland, South Africa
  • M. Shaver (Polymer Chemistry; renewable and sustainable polymers)
    University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Y. Yu (Polymer Chemistry, Functional and smart Polymers)
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China

Editorial Advisory Board

  • B. Ameduri
    Lab of Macromolecular Chemistr, Montpellier Cedex 5, France
  • S. Armes
    University of Sheffield, Sheffield, UK
  • W. Binder
    Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg, Halle, Germany
  • C. Boyer
    UNSW Australia, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
  • S. Caillol
    Université de Montpellier, Montpellier, France
  • T. Chang
    Pohang University of Science and Technology, Pohang, The Republic of Korea
  • T. Dargaville
    Queensland University of Technology, Kelvin Grove, Queensland, Australia
  • E. Drockenmuller
    Université de Lyon, VILLEURBANNE Cedex, France
  • P. Dubois
    Luxembourg Institute of Science and Technology (LIST), Luxembourg
  • G. Galli
    Università di Pisa, Pisa, Italy
  • U.W. Gedde
    KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
  • D.M. Haddleton
    University of Warwick, Coventry, UK
  • N. Hadjichristidis
    King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), Thuwal, Saudi Arabia
  • J. He
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • A. Heise
    Dublin City University, Dublin 9, Glasnevin, Ireland
  • A. Hirao
    Tokyo Institute of Technology, Tokyo, Japan
  • C. Jérôme CERM
    Université de Liège, Liege, Belgium
  • Z. Jia
    University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • V. Khutoryanskiy
    University of Reading, Reading, Berkshire, UK
  • H.-A. Klok
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
  • J-F. Lutz
    Institut Charles Sadron, Strasbourg, France
  • E. Malmström
    KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Stockholm, Sweden
  • M. Monteiro
    University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • K. Ohno
    Kyoto University, Uji-Shi, Japan
  • C.-Y. Pan
    University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Hefei, Anhui Province, China
  • S. Perrier
    University of Warwick, Warwick, England, UK
  • S. Pispas
    National Hellenic Research Foundation, Athens, Greece
  • B. Pukánszky
    Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Budapest, Hungary
  • J. Puskas
    University of Akron, Akron, Ohio, USA
  • E. Rizzardo
    Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation (CSIRO), Clayton South, Victoria, Australia
  • J. San Román
    Instituto de Ciencia y Tecnologia de Polimeros, Madrid, Spain
  • A. Sanyal
    Bogazici University, Istanbul, Turkey
  • V. Seppala
    Aalto University, Aalto, Finland
  • N.K. Singha
    Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, India
  • P. Stepanek
    Institute of Macromolecular Chemistry, Prague, Czech Republic
  • X. Sui
    Donghua University, Shanghai, China
  • D. Taton
    Université de Bordeaux, Pessac, France
  • N. Tomczak
    Institute of Materials Research and Engineering (IMRE), Singapore
  • M. Wilhelm
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Karlsruhe, Germany
  • P. Wu
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • J. Yuan
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • H. Zhang
    Nankai University, Tianjin, China
  • X. Zhang
    Tsinghua University, Beijing, China
  • D. Y. Zhao
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • J. Zhu
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Ningbo, Zhejiang Province, China