Surface and Coatings Technology is an international archival journal publishing scientific papers on significant developments in surface and interface engineering to modify and improve the surface properties of materials for protection in demanding contact conditions or aggressive environments, or for enhanced functional performance. Contributions range from original scientific articles concerned with fundamental and applied aspects of research or direct applications of metallic, inorganic, organic and composite coatings, to invited reviews of current technology in specific areas. Papers submitted to this journal are expected to be in line with the following aspects in processes, and properties/performance:

A. Processes: Physical and chemical vapour deposition techniques, thermal and plasma spraying, surface modification by directed energy techniques such as ion, electron and laser beams, thermo-chemical treatment, wet chemical and electrochemical processes such as plating, sol-gel coating, anodization, plasma electrolytic oxidation, etc., but excluding painting.

B. Properties/performance: friction performance, wear resistance (e.g., abrasion, erosion, fretting, etc), corrosion and oxidation resistance, thermal protection, diffusion resistance, hydrophilicity/hydrophobicity, and properties relevant to smart materials behaviour and enhanced multifunctional performance for environmental, energy and medical applications, but excluding device aspects.

Articles must go beyond the technical recipe format and gain substantial new understanding and insight based on detailed characterization of coatings and processes. Experimental papers should provide complete information on the process parameters and an appropriate microstructural characterization. Also, papers which include test data should provide full details of the test equipment and parameters. Such papers should report on the synthesis-characterization-properties-performance relationships.

Manuscripts must be written in good English and contain a balanced and up-to-date reference list formatted according to the guide-for-authors.

Note to authors:
In order to be considered for publication, the Covering Letter with your paper should clearly explain the novelty and originality of your research and its scientific contribution beyond previously published papers. If not, your submission will not be considered for publication and will not be sent out for peer-review.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • Professor A. Matthews
    The University of Manchester School of Materials, Sackville Street Building, M1 3BB, Manchester, United Kingdom


  • Professor G. Abadias
    University of Poitiers, 86034, Poitiers, France
  • Professor S. Aouadi
    University of North Texas Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 1155 Union Circle #305310, Denton, Texas, 76203-5017, United States
  • Professor H.C. Man
    The Hong Kong Polytechnic University Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering, Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Dr. P.J. Martin
    CSIRO Australian Manufacturing and Materials Precinct, Normandy Road, Clayton, 3168, Australia
  • Dr. J. Patscheider
    Evatec Process Systems AG, CH-9477, Trübbach, Switzerland
  • Professor I. Petrov
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Department of Materials Science and Engineering, 104 S. Goodwin, Urbana, Illinois, 61801-2920, United States
  • Professor C. Rebholz
    University of Cyprus Department of Mechanical & Manufacturing Engineering, 75 Kallipoleos Street, 1678, Lefkosia, Cyprus
  • Professor S.M.A. Shibli
    University of Kerala Department of Chemistry, 695 581, Trivandrum, India

Managing Editor

  • Assoc. Professor D.T.A. Matthews
    University of Twente Faculty of Engineering Technology, Enschede, Netherlands

Editorial Board

  • A. Agarwal
    Florida International University, Miami, Florida, United States
  • H. Baránková
    Uppsala University, Uppsala, Sweden
  • Z.H. Barber
    University of Cambridge Department of Materials Science and Metallurgy, Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
  • K. Bobzin
    RWTH Aachen University Institute of Surface Engineering, Aachen, Germany
  • L.B. Boinovich
    Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry RAS, Moskva, Russian Federation
  • G. Bolelli
    University of Modena and Reggio Emilia, Modena, Italy
  • S.P. Brühl
    National Technological University Conception of Uruguay Regional Faculty, Concepción del Uruguay, Argentina
  • I.E. Campos Silva
    National Polytechnic Institute Zacatenco Unit Surface Engineering Group, Ciudad de México, Mexico
  • R.R. Chromik
    McGill University, Montreal, Quebec, Canada
  • P.K. Chu
    City University of Hong Kong, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Y.W. Chung
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, United States
  • J. T. M. De Hosson
    University of Groningen Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, Groningen, Netherlands
  • C. Donnet
    Jean Monnet University, Saint-Etienne, France
  • M. Fenker
    fem Research Institute for Precious Metals and Metal Chemistry, Schwabisch Gmund, Germany
  • C.A. Figueroa
    University of Caxias do Sul, CAXIAS DO SUL, Brazil
  • V. de Freitas Cunha Lins
    Federal University of Minas Gerais Department of Chemical Engineering, BELO HORIZONTE, Brazil
  • S. J. Garcia
    Delft University of Technology Faculty of Aerospace Engineering, Delft, Netherlands
  • M. Guagliano
    Polytechnic of Milan, Milano, Italy
  • R.B. Heimann
    Goerlitz, Germany
  • C.T. Kwok
    University of Macau, Taipa, Macao
  • J.-W. Lee
    Ming Chi University of Technology Department of Materials Engineering, Taipei, Taiwan
  • X.P. Lu
    Northeastern University, Shenyang, China
  • D. Manova
    Leibniz Institute of Surface Engineering, Leipzig, Germany
  • P. Mayrhofer
    TU Wien University, Wien, Austria
  • C. Mitterer
    University of Mining, Leoben, Austria
  • M.F. Montemor
    University of Lisbon Higher Technical Institute, Lisboa, Portugal
  • A.S.C.M. d'Oliveira
    Federal University of Parana, Curitiba, Brazil
  • L. Pawlowski
    Limoges University, Limoges, France
  • B. Podgornik
    Institute of Metals and Technology, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • N. Schalk
    University of Mining, Leoben, Austria
  • J.M. Schneider
    RWTH Aachen University, Aachen, Germany
  • S.Z. Shanyong
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore
  • W.D. Sproul
    Carlsbad, California, United States
  • M. Stueber
    Karlsruhe Institute of Technology Institute for Applied Materials, Eggenstein-Leopoldshafen, Germany
  • X.B Tian
    Harbin Institute of Technology, Harbin, China
  • A. Vesel
    Jozef Stefan Institute, Ljubljana, Slovenia
  • V. Vitry
    University of Mons, Mons, Belgium
  • F.C. Walsh
    University of Southampton, Southampton, United Kingdom
  • S.G. Walton
    US Naval Research Laboratory, Washington, District of Columbia, United States
  • M.S. Wong
    National Dong Hwa University - Meilun Campus, Hualien, Taiwan
  • A. Yerokhin
    The University of Manchester, Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Y. Zuo
    Beijing University of Chemical Technology, Beijing, China