Progress in Surface Science publishes progress reports and review articles by invited authors of international stature. The papers are aimed at surface scientists and cover various aspects of surface science. Papers in the new section Progress Highlights, are more concise and general at the same time, and are aimed at all scientists. Because of the transdisciplinary nature of surface science, topics are chosen for their timeliness from across the wide spectrum of scientific and engineering subjects. The journal strives to promote the exchange of ideas between surface scientists in the various areas. Authors are encouraged to write articles that are of relevance and interest to both established surface scientists and newcomers in the field.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • H. Petek
    Dept. of Physics and Astronomy, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, 15260, USA, Fax: +1 412 624 9802

Founding Editor

  • S.G. Davison

Editorial Board

  • R. Arafune PhD
    National Institute for Materials Science (NIMS), Tsukuba, Japan
  • Z. Dohnálek
    Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington, USA
  • G. Dujardin
    Université Paris-Sud (Paris XI), Orsay, France
  • J.G. Hou
    University of Science and Technology of China (USTC), Hefei, Anhui, China
  • A.W. Kleyn
    Center of Interface Dynamics for Sustainability, Chengdu, Sichuan, China
  • N. Lorente
    Centro de Física de Materiales (CFM-CSIC), San Sebastián, Spain
  • K. Morgenstern
    Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Bochum, Germany
  • M. Raschke
    University of Colorado Boulder, Boulder, Colorado, USA
  • W.-D. Schneider
    École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL), Lausanne, Switzerland
  • H-P. Steinrück
    Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg, Erlangen, Germany
  • J. Yoshinobu
    The University of Tokyo, Kashiwa, Japan
  • X.Y. Zhu
    Columbia University, New York, New York, USA