Materials Today Sustainability is a multi-disciplinary journal covering all aspects of sustainability through materials science.

With a rapidly increasing population with growing demands, materials science has emerged as a critical discipline toward protecting of the environment and ensuring the long term survival of future generations. Preserving the natural world, while accommodating human needs that are expanding in both volume and complexity requires the production and application of novel materials designed to tackle issues spanning energy, medicine, food ;& water, construction, transport, manufactured goods, and the climate

Part of the Materials Today family,Materials Today Sustainability offers authors rigorous peer review, rapid decisions, and high visibility; allowing researchers to demonstrate the potential for their research to protect the planet. The editors welcome comprehensive articles, short communications and reviews addressing the use of materials science to issues of sustainability, on topics including but not limited to:
•CO2 capture and storage
•Hydrogen generation and storage
•Novel energy storage technologies
• Solar energy
• Sustainable catalysis materials
• Sustainable utilization of raw materials
•Recycling of materials
• Biomass, bio-fuels and bioenergies
• Green processes and technologies
• Green chemistry

Editorial board


  • Dr. J Huang
    The University of Sydney, School of Chemical Engineering, Sydney, NSW2006, New South Wales, Australia
  • Professor J. Liu PhD
    University of Surrey Department of Chemical and Process Engineering, GU2 5XH, Guildford, United Kingdom

Editorial Board

  • Professor Joao Araujo
    University of Porto, Porto, Portugal
  • Mr. Stewart Bland
    Elsevier Ltd Kidlington Corporate Office, Kidlington, United Kingdom
  • Dr. Yu Dong
    Curtin University, Perth, Australia
  • Professor Franck Dumeignil
    University of Lille, Sciences and Technologies Federation, Chemistry Department, Unit of Catalysis and Chemistry of Solid, Villeneuve-d’Ascq Cedex, France
  • Professor Antonio Facchetti
    Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois, United States
  • Professor Claudio Gerbaldi
    Polytechnic of Turin, Torino, Italy
  • Professor Mietek Jaroniec
    Kent State University, Kent, Ohio, United States
  • Dr. Freddy Kleitz
    University of Vienna Institute of Inorganic Chemistry, Wien, Austria
  • Professor Biao Kong
    Fudan University, Shanghai, China
  • Prof. Dr. Klaus Kümmerer
    Leuphana University of Lüneburg Institute for Sustainable and Environmental Chemistry, Lüneburg, Germany
  • Dr. Bradley Ladewig
    Imperial College London, London, United Kingdom
  • Professor Chun-Sing Lee
    City University of Hong Kong Department of Biology and Chemistry, Kowloon, Hong Kong
  • Professor Hongyang Liu
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), Inst. of Metal Research, Shenyang, Liaoning, China
  • Professor Shaomin Liu
    Curtin University, Discipline of Chemical Engineering, Western Australian School of Mines:, Bentley, Perth, Western Australia, Australia
  • Prof. Dr. Zhimin Liu
    Institute of Chemistry Chinese Academy of Sciences, Beijing, China
  • Professor Jun Lou
    Rice University, Dept. of Materials Science and NanoEngineering, Houston, Texas, United States
  • Professor G.Q. Max Lu
    University of Surrey, Guildford, United Kingdom
  • Professor João Mano
    University of Aveiro Chemistry Department, Aveiro, Portugal
  • Professor Martin Pumera
    University of Chemistry and Technology, Dept. of Inorganic Chemistry, Prague, Czech Republic
  • Professor Zhifeng Ren
    University of Houston Department of Physics, Houston, Texas, United States
  • Professor Parasuraman Selvam
    Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai, India
  • Assoc. Professor Tze-Chien Sum
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore
  • Professor Magda Titirici
    Imperial College London, Dept. of Chemical Engineering, London, United Kingdom
  • Dr. Hao Bin WU
    Zhejiang University, Hangzhou, China
  • Dr. Lai Chin Wei
    University of Malaya, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
  • Professor Gleb Yushin
    Georgia Institute of Technology School of Materials Science and Engineering, Atlanta, Georgia, United States
  • Professor Qiang Zhang
    Tsinghua University Department of Chemical Engineering, Beijing, China
  • Professor Xian-Zheng Zhang
    Wuhan University, Key Laboratory of Biomedical Polymers of Ministry of Education & Department of Chemistry, Wuhan, China
  • Professor Ze Zhang
    Zhejiang University School of Materials Science and Engineering, Hangzhou, China
  • Professor Zhenyu Zhang
    Dalian University of Technology, School of Mechanical Engineering, Dalian, China