Materials Science and Engineering A provides an international medium for the publication of theoretical and experimental studies related to the load-bearing capacity of materials as influenced by their basic properties, processing history, microstructure and operating environment. Appropriate submissions to Materials Science and Engineering A should include scientific and/or engineering factors which affect the microstructure - strength relationships of materials and report the changes to mechanical behavior.

Please be advised that the Aims and Scope for the journal has recently been updated. The journal will no longer consider or publish papers on concrete and cement-based systems nor on polymeric and polymer-based materials. In addition, papers with an emphasis on corrosion or wear are discouraged, unless they specifically address novel mechanical behavior or related phenomena.

Editorial board


  • E. J. Lavernia
    University of California at Irvine, Irvine, California, USA


  • N. Chawla
    Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona, USA
  • F. Chen
    Wuhan University of Technology, Wuhan, China
  • F. Fang
    Southeast University, Jiangsu, China
  • L. Ladani
    University of Connecticut, Storrs, Connecticut, USA
  • J. Shang
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Urbana, Illinois, USA
  • M.J. Starink
    University of Southampton, Highfield, Southampton, UK
  • E. Werner
    Technische Universität München, Garching, Germany
  • J.D. Whittenberger
  • Y.Z. Zhou
    University of California at Irvine, California, USA

Editorial Board

  • R. Asthana
    University of Wisconsin-Stout, USA
  • A. Atrens
    University of Queensland, Australia
  • F. Berto
    Norwegian University of Science & Technology NTNU, Norway
  • I. J. Beyerlein
    University of California at Santa Barbara, USA
  • H. K. D. H. Bhadeshia
    University of Cambridge, UK
  • C. Boehlert
    Michigan State University, USA
  • C. Borchers
    University of Göttingen, Germany
  • C.H. Caceres
    University of Queensland, Australia
  • J. Campbell
    University of Birmingham, UK
  • K.K. Chawla
    University of Alabama at Birmingham, USA
  • D.L. Chen
    Ryerson University, Canada
  • F. Chmelik
    Charles University, Czech Republic
  • G. Fan
    PDC Engineering LLC, USA
  • J. Gubicza
    Eötvös Loránd Tudományegyetem (ELTE), Hungary
  • H.J. Gudladt
    University of Armed Forces Munich, Germany
  • M. Gupta
    National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • N. Gupta
    New York University, USA
  • K. Higashida
    Sasebo National College of Technology, Japan
  • Z. Horita
    Kyushu University, Japan
  • R. Hristov Petrov
    Ghent University, Belgium
  • Shailendra P. Joshi
  • A.M.J. Júnior
    Universidade Federal de São Carlos, Brazil
  • P. Karjalainen
    University of Oulu, Finland
  • M. Kato
    Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • H.S. Kim
    Pohang University of Science and Technology, The Republic of Korea
  • J. Koike
    Tohoku University, Japan
  • J. Krogstad
    University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA
  • T.G. Langdon
    University of Southampton, UK
  • E. Lara-Curzio
    Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA
  • J. Lendvai
    Eötvös Loránd Tudományegyetem (ELTE), Hungary
  • Y.-C. Lin
    Central South University, China
  • Y.J. Lin
    Yanshan University, China
  • J. Llorca
    IMDEA Materials Institute and Technical University of Madrid, Spain
  • K. Ma
    Colorado State University, USA
  • Z.Y. Ma
    Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS), China
  • R. Mahmudi
    University of Tehran, Iran
  • S. Mandal
    Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Kharagpur, India
  • S.N. Mathaudhu
    University of California, USA
  • M. A. Meyers
    University of California at San Diego (UCSD), USA
  • R.S. Mishra
    University of North Texas, USA
  • D. Misra
    University of Texas at El Paso, USA
  • F. Mohamed
    University of California at Irvine, USA
  • A.K. Mukhopadhyay
    Defence Metallurgical Research Laboratory, India
  • E. Olivetti
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
  • S. Onaka
    Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan
  • K.-T. Park
    Hanbat National University, The Republic of Korea
  • E. Pereloma
    University of Wollongong, Australia
  • P. Prangnell
    University of Manchester, UK
  • D. Raabe
    Max Planck Institut (MPI) für Eisenforschung, Germany
  • S.V. Raj
    NASA Glenn Research Center, USA
  • K.P. Rao
    City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • T.J. Rupert
    University of California, USA
  • W. Sha
    Queen's University Belfast, UK
  • Y.-L. Shen
    University of New Mexico, USA
  • V.V. Silberschmidt
    Loughborough University, UK
  • I.B. Skrotzki
    Bundesanstalt für Materialforschung und Prüfung (BAM), Germany
  • S. Spigarelli
    Università Politecnica delle Marche, Italy
  • T. Srivatsan
    University of Akron, USA
  • N. Stanford
    Deakin University, Australia
  • S. Suwas
    Indian Institute of Science, India
  • S. Tin PhD
    Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
  • S.C. Tjong
    City University of Hong Kong, China
  • Z. Trojanová
    Charles University, Czech Republic
  • P.J. Uggowitzer
    Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule (ETH) Zürich, Switzerland
  • A. Vinogradov PhD
    Norwegian University of Science & Technology NTNU, Norway
  • Q. Wei
    University of North Carolina at Charlotte, USA
  • H.M. Wen
    Idaho State University, USA
  • K. Xia
    University of Melbourne, Australia
  • F. Yang
    University of Kentucky, USA
  • R. Z. Valiev
    Ufa State Aviation Technical University, Russian Federation
  • D. Zhang
    Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China
  • Z.F. Zhang
    Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Sciences, China
  • M.Y. Zheng
    Harbin Institute of Technology, China
  • M. Zimmermann
    TU Dresden, Germany

Honorary Members

  • H. Herman
    Stony Brook, New York, USA
  • C. Koch
    Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
  • M. Koiwa
    Kyoto, Japan
  • H. Mughrabi
    Erlangen, Germany