The aim of Advanced Powder Technology is to meet the demand for an international journal that integrates all aspects of science and technology research on powder and particulate materials. The journal fulfills this purpose by publishing original research papers, rapid communications, reviews, and translated articles by prominent researchers worldwide.

The editorial work of Advanced Powder Technology, which was founded as the International Journal of the Society of Powder Technology, Japan, is now shared by distinguished board members, who operate in a unique framework designed to respond to the increasing global demand for articles on not only powder and particles, but also on various materials produced from them.

Advanced Powder Technology covers various areas, but a discussion of powder and particles is required in articles. Topics include:

  • Production of powder and particulate materials in gases and liquids(nanoparticles, fine ceramics, pharmaceuticals, novel functional materials, etc.)
  • Aerosol and colloidal processing
  • Powder and particle characterization
  • Dynamics and phenomena
  • Calculation and simulation (CFD, DEM, Monte Carlo method, population balance, etc.)
  • Measurement and control of powder processes
  • Particle modification
  • Comminution
  • Powder handling and operations (storage, transport, granulation, separation, fluidization, etc.)

Editorial board


  • Masayoshi Fuji
    Nagoya Institute of Technology, Nagoya, Japan

Executive Editors

  • Rajesh N. Davé
    New Jersey Institute of Technology, Newark, New Jersey, United States
  • Stefan Heinrich
    Hamburg University of Technology, Hamburg, Germany
  • Hee Dong Jang
    Korea Institute of Geoscience and Mineral Resources, Daejeon, Korea, Republic of
  • Hsiu-Po Kuo
    National Taiwan University, Taipei, Taiwan
  • Ryoichi Kurose PhD
    Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
  • Giridhar Madras
    Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
  • Jun Oshitani
    Okayama University of Science, Okayama, Japan
  • Cordelia Selomulya
    University of New South Wales, Sydney, New South Wales, Australia

Associate Executive Editors

  • J.H. Kim
    University of Seoul, Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • R.W.M. Lau
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore, Singapore

Editorial Board

  • M. Azad
    North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University, United States
  • T. Ban
    Gifu University, Japan
  • S. Basu
    Indian Institute of Science, India
  • E. Bilgili
    New Jersey Institute of Technology, United States
  • A. Calka
    University of Wollongong, Australia
  • H. Chang
    Korea Institute of Geoscience and Mineral Resources, Korea, Republic of
  • B. Chaudhuri
    University of Connecticut, United States
  • J.W. Chew
    Nanyang Technological University, Singapore
  • H.C. Cho
    Seoul National University, Korea, Republic of
  • C. E. Davies
    Massey University - Albany Campus, New Zealand
  • G.M. Evans
    The University of Newcastle School of Engineering, Australia
  • G.V. Franks
    The University of Melbourne Department of Chemical Engineering, Australia
  • K. Fukui
    Hiroshima University, Japan
  • P. García-Triñanes
    University of Greenwich Faculty of Engineering and Science, United Kingdom
  • B. Glasser
    Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, United States
  • Y. Han
    Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • A. Harano
    Gunma University, Japan
  • D. Harvie
    The University of Melbourne, Australia
  • K.H. Henthorn
    Rose Hulman Institute of Technology, United States
  • Y. Hotta
    National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology Chubu Center, Japan
  • S.-S. Hsiau
    National Central University, Taiwan
  • A-N. Huang
    Chang Gung University, Taiwan
  • M. Iijima
    Yokohama National University, Japan
  • K. Iimura
    Hyogo University, Japan
  • M. Inada
    Kyushu University, Japan
  • N. Ishida
    Okayama University, Japan
  • T. Iwasaki
    Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
  • K. Kadota
    Osaka University of Pharmaceutical Science, Japan
  • Y. Kang
    Chungnam National University, Korea, Republic of
  • J. Kano
    Tohoku University, Japan
  • T.-O. Kim
    Kumoh National Institute of Technology, Korea, Republic of
  • M. Kimata
    Yamagata University, Japan
  • A.A. Kulkarni
    National Chemical Laboratory CSIR, India
  • P. Kumar
    Indian Institute of Science, India
  • A. Kwade
    Braunschweig University of Technology, Germany
  • D. Lee
    Pusan National University, Korea, Republic of
  • F. Li
    University of North Carolina System, United States
  • X. Liang
    Missouri University of Science and Technology, United States
  • E.W.C. Lim
    National University of Singapore, Singapore
  • S-.Y. Lu
    National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  • K. Luo
    Zhejiang University, China
  • L. Mädler
    University of Bremen, Germany
  • R. Mukherjee
    Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur, India
  • S. Nagamine
    Kyoto University, Japan
  • K. Nakamura
    Nisshin Seifun Group Inc, Japan
  • T. Nomura
    Osaka Prefecture University, Japan
  • T. Ogi
    Hiroshima University, Japan
  • T. Ohno
    Kitami Institute of Technology, Japan
  • U. Peuker
    Institut fur MVT/AT, Germany
  • Y. Shen
    University of New South Wales School of Chemical Engineering, Australia
  • S. Stevanovic
    Deakin University, Australia
  • K. Tahara
    Gifu Pharmaceutical University, Japan
  • C. Takai
    Gifu University, Japan
  • H. Tanaka
    Shimane University, Japan
  • T. Tani
    Toyota Central Research and Development Labs Inc, Japan
  • K. Tanno
    Central Research Institute of Electric Power Industry, Japan
  • C. Tokoro
    Waseda University, Japan
  • D.-H. Tsai
    National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  • T. Tsuji
    Osaka University, Japan
  • R. Vinu
    Indian Institute of Technology Madras, India
  • H. Watanabe
    Kyushu University, Japan
  • S. Watanabe
    Kyoto University, Japan
  • C. Wheeler
    The University of Newcastle, Australia
  • Y. Xing
    University of Missouri, United States
  • J. Yao
    Xiamen University, China
  • X. Yin
    Colorado School of Mines, United States
  • A. Yip
    University of Canterbury, New Zealand
  • S.-J. Yoo
    Seonam University, Korea, Republic of
  • M. Yoshida
    Doshisha University, Japan

Advisory Board

  • K. Carpenter
    Jurong, Singapore
  • R. Davies
    Delaware, United States
  • L.-S. Fan
    Ohio, United States
  • M. Ghadiri
    Leeds, United Kingdom
  • L. Gradoń
    Warszawa, Poland
  • H. Kamiya
    Tokyo, Japan
  • C. Kanaoka
    Kanazawa, Japan
  • Y. Kawashima
    Aichi, Japan
  • D. V. Khakhar
    Mumbai, India
  • D.-J. Lee
    Taipei, Taiwan
  • H. Leuenberger
    Basel, Switzerland
  • J. Li
    Beijing, PRC
  • H. Makino
    CRIEPI, Japan
  • H. Masuda
    Kyoto, Japan
  • B. Moudgil
    Florida, United States
  • K. Okuyama
    Hiroshima, Japan
  • J.K. Park
    Seoul, Korea, Republic of
  • W. Peukert
    Erlanger-Nuremberg, Germany
  • R. Pfeffer
    New Jersey, United States
  • S.E. Pratsinis
    Zurich, Switzerland
  • M.J. Rhodes
    Victoria, Australia
  • P.J. Scales
    Victoria, Australia
  • A. Schmidt-Ott
    Delft, The Netherlands
  • S. Senna
    Yokohama, Japan
  • H. Suzuki
    Shizuoka, Japan
  • W. Tanthapanichakoon
    Bangkok, Thailand
  • C.H. Wang
    Singapore, Singapore
  • R.A. Williams
    Birmingham, United Kingdom
  • H. Yamamoto
    Tokyo, Japan
  • S. Yuu
    Kitakyushu, Japan

Founding Editor

  • K. Morikawa

Honorary Editors-in-Chief

  • K. Gotoh
    Toyohashi, Japan
  • K. Higashitani
    Kyoto, Japan
  • S. Matsusaka
    Kyoto, Japan
  • Y. Mori
    Kyotanabe, Japan

Editorial Office

  • The Society of Powder Technology, Japan