Colloid and Interface Science Communications is a primary research journal that provides the colloids community an efficient and flexible route for the publication of scientifically and ethically sound articles which may not always find the right home on first submission.

The journal is a forum for the rapid publication of short initial reports, full research papers and review articles on new fundamental concepts, research findings, and topical applications at the forefront of the increasingly interdisciplinary area of colloid and interface science. Emphasis is given to novel experimental techniques and theoretical/computational methods for advanced studies of interfacial interactions and design of colloidal materials, including

• Colloidal solutions, self-assembly, surfactant and polymer mesophases
• Interfacial processes, adsorption, capillarity, wetting, and microfluidics
• Soft matter, membranes, coatings, films, gels, and foams
• Nanoparticles, nanotubes, and low dimensionality materials
• Colloidal nanostructures and micro-mesoporous materials
• Biointerfaces, biocolloids, biofilms, and biomembranes

The scope of applications include nanomaterials, energy production and storage, biotechnologies, nanomedicine, drug delivery, environmental sustainability, adsorption separations, catalysis, electrochemistry, food, pharmaceutical, personal care, and cosmetic products.

Editorial board


  • Qian Yu
    Soochow University, Suzhou, China

Board Members

  • K. G. Ayappa
    Indian Institute of Science, Bengaluru, India
  • S. Biggs
    University of Queensland, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
  • L.B. Boinovich
    Frumkin Institute of Physical Chemistry and Electrochemistry RAS, Moskva, Russian Federation
  • D. Brutin
    Aix-Marseille Universite, Marseille, France
  • H.J. Busscher
    University of Groningen, Groningen, Netherlands
  • H. Chen
    Soochow University, Suzhou, China
  • N Denkov
    Sofia University St Kliment Ohridski, Sofia, Bulgaria
  • V.K. Gupta
    Indian Institute of Technology Roorkee, Roorkee, India
  • Y. Hanein
    Tel Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel
  • T.A. Hatton
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
  • N. Hilal PhD
    Swansea University College of Engineering, Swansea, United Kingdom
  • Q. Huo
    University of Central Florida, Orlando, Florida, United States
  • J. Jiang
    National University of Singapore, Singapore, Singapore
  • K. Kaneko
    Nagano University, Ueda, Japan
  • S. Kaskel
    TU Dresden, Dresden, Germany
  • A.B Kayitmazer
    Boğaziçi University, İstanbul, Turkey
  • S. Kitagawa
    Kyoto University, Kyoto, Japan
  • M Kosmulski
    Lublin University of Technology, Lublin, Poland
  • H Lee
    Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, Korea, Republic of
  • M. E. Leser
    Nestle Research Center, Lausanne 26, Switzerland
  • P. Levitz
    Sorbonne University Pierre and Marie Curie Campus, Paris, France
  • J. Liu
    Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, Richland, Washington, United States
  • M. Malmsten PhD
    University of Copenhagen Department of Pharmacy, København, Denmark
  • S. Minko
    The University of Georgia, Athens, Georgia, United States
  • W. Parak
    University of Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
  • D. Prieve
    Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
  • A.D. Rey
    McGill University, Montréal, Quebec, Canada
  • O. Rojas
    Aalto University, Aalto, Finland
  • G. Scherer
    Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey, United States
  • S. Seeger
    University of Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
  • N. Shapley
    Rutgers University Department of Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
  • V.M. Starov
    Loughborough University, Loughborough, United Kingdom
  • K.J. Stebe
    University of Pennsylvania Hillel, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
  • B.-L. Su PhD
    University of Namur, Namur, Belgium
  • L.Z. Wang
    The University of Queensland School of Chemical Engineering, St Lucia, Brisbane, Australia
  • S. Wu PhD
    Tianjin University, Tianjin, China
  • P. Yang PhD
    Shaanxi Normal University, Xian, China
  • D. Y. Zhao
    Fudan University Department of Chemistry, Shanghai, China