Dyes and Pigments covers the scientific and technical aspects of the chemistry and physics of dyes, pigments and their intermediates. Emphasis is placed on the properties of the colouring matters themselves rather than on their applications or the system in which they may be applied.

Thus the journal accepts research and review papers on the synthesis of dyes, pigments and intermediates, their physical or chemical properties, e.g. spectroscopic, surface, solution or solid state characteristics, the physical aspects of their preparation, e.g. precipitation, nucleation and growth, crystal formation, liquid crystalline characteristics, their photochemical, ecological or biological properties and the relationship between colour and chemical constitution. However, papers are considered which deal with the more fundamental aspects of colourant application and of the interactions of colourants with substrates or media.

The journal will interest a wide variety of workers in a range of disciplines whose work involves dyes, pigments and their intermediates, and provides a platform for investigators with common interests but diverse fields of activity such as cosmetics, reprographics, dye and pigment synthesis, medical research, polymers, etc.

Editorial board


  • Professor B. Mark Heron
    University of Huddersfield, HD1 3DH, Huddersfield, United Kingdom
  • Professor Mark Wainwright
    Liverpool John Moores University School of Pharmacy and Biomolecular Sciences, L3 3AF, Liverpool, United Kingdom

Executive Editor

  • Professor Xiang Ma
    East China University of Science and Technology, 200237, Shanghai, China
  • Professor Juyoung Yoon
    Ewha Womans University Department of Chemistry and Nanoscience, 03760, Seodaemun-gu, Korea, Republic of

Associate Editors

  • Dr. Sylvain Achelle
    Organometallics Materials and Catalysis team, Rennes, France
  • Dr. Karen de Clerck
    Ghent University Department of Materials Textiles and Chemical Engineering, 9052, Zwijnaarde, Belgium
  • Dr. Carlos Lodeiro Espiño
    New University of Lisbon Faculty of Science and Technology, 2829-516, Caparica, Portugal
  • Dr. Mark Van der Auweraer
    KU Leuven Molecular Imaging and Photonics, 3001, Leuven, Belgium

Honorary Editors

  • Professor S.M. Burkinshaw
  • Dr. A.T. Peters
  • Professor H. Tian

Editorial Board

  • Norman Allen
    Manchester Metropolitan University, Manchester, United Kingdom
  • Martin Bide
    University of Rhode Island, Kingston, Rhode Island, United States
  • Neil Branda
    Simon Fraser University, Burnaby, British Columbia, Canada
  • Robert Christie
    Heriot-Watt University School of Textiles and Design, Galashiels, United Kingdom
  • Michael Detty
    University at Buffalo - The State University of New York, Buffalo, New York, United States
  • M. Dondi
    Institute of Science and Technology of Ceramic Materials National Research Council, Faenza, Italy
  • N.A. Garcia
    National University of Rio Cuarto, Cordoba, Argentina
  • Chris Geddes
    University of Maryland Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, Baltimore, Maryland, United States
  • Ahmet Gül
    Istanbul Technical University, İstanbul, Turkey
  • Denis Jacquemin
    Université de Nantes, Laboratoire CEISAM, UMR 6230 - CNRS, Nantes, France
  • Teofil Jesionowski
    Poznan University of Technology, Poznan, Poland
  • Masaki Matsui
    Gifu University, Gifu, Japan
  • Heinz Mustroph
    FEW Chemicals GmbH, Bitterfeld-Wolfen, Germany
  • Hiroyuki Nakazumi
    Osaka Prefecture University College of Engineering School of Materials Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Department of Applied Chemistry, Osaka, Japan
  • Shaun Smith
    CSIRO Geelong Waurn Ponds, Belmont, Australia
  • Andy Towns
    Lambson Ltd, Wetherby, United Kingdom
  • Wai-Yeung Wong
    Hong Kong Polytechnic University Department of Applied Biology and Chemical Technology, Hong Kong, Hong Kong
  • Weihong Zhu
    East China University of Science and Technology, Shanghai, China