Materials Research Bulletin is an international journal reporting high-impact research on processing-structure-property relationships in functional inorganic materials and nanomaterials with interesting electronic, magnetic, optical, thermal, mechanical or catalytic properties. Papers purely on thermodynamics or theoretical calculations (e.g., density functional theory) do not fall within the scope of the journal unless they also demonstrate a clear link to physical properties. Topics covered include functional materials (e.g., dielectrics, pyroelectrics, piezoelectrics, ferroelectrics, relaxors, thermoelectrics, etc.); electrochemistry and solid-state ionics (e.g., photovoltaics, batteries, sensors, and fuel cells); nanomaterials, graphene, and nanocomposites; luminescence and photocatalysis; crystal-structure and defect-structure analysis; novel electronics; and non-crystalline solids.

Benefits to authors
We also provide many author benefits, such as free PDFs, a liberal copyright policy, special discounts on Elsevier publications and much more. Please click here for more information on our author services.

Please see our Guide for Authors for information on article submission. If you require any further information or help, please visit our Support Center

Editorial board


  • Professor Rick Ubic
    Boise State University Micron School of Materials Science and Engineering, United States


  • Dr. Won Il Park
    Hanyang University Division of Materials Science and Engineering, The Republic of Korea
  • Dr. Xiao-jun Wang
    Georgia Southern University Department of Physics, United States
  • Professor Giovanni Zangari
    University of Virginia Engineering, Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering, United States

Editors Emeriti

  • Professor Martha Greenblatt
    Rutgers University, Dept. of Chemistry, United States
  • Professor A.W. Sleight
    Oregon State University, United States

Founding Editors

  • Dr. Heinz K. Henish
  • Dr. Rustum Roy

Editorial Board Members

  • Dr. Isaac Abrahams
    Queen Mary University of London School of Biological and Chemical Sciences, United Kingdom
  • Professor Evgeny Antipov
    Lomonosov Moscow State University Inorganic Chemistry Division, Russian Federation
  • Dr. B.A. Boukamp
    University of Twente Faculty of Science and Technology, Netherlands
  • Professor Yongge Cao
    Beijing Key Laboratory of Optoelectronic Functional Materials and Micro-Nano Devices, China
  • Dr. R.J. Cava
    Princeton University Department of Chemistry, United States
  • Dr. T.J. Emge
    Rutgers University Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, United States
  • Professor Hongjin Fan
    Nanyang Technological University School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences Division of Physics and Applied Physics, Singapore
  • Professor Shouhua Feng
    Jilin University College of Chemistry, China
  • Professor Allan J. Jacobson
    University of Houston Department of Chemistry, United States
  • Prof. Dr. Liqiang Jing
    Heilongjiang University, School of Chemistry and Materials Science Key Laboratory of Functional Inorganic Materials Chemistry, China
  • Professor Richard Kaner
    University of California Los Angeles Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, United States
  • Dr. Hongbin Liang
    Sun Yat-sen University School of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering, China
  • Dr. Ahsan-Ul-Haq Qurashi
    King Fahd University of Petroleum & Minerals Center of Research Excellence in Nanotechnology, Saudi Arabia
  • Professor Chintamani N. R. Rao
    Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research CSIR Centre of Excellence in Chemistry, India
  • Dr. M.V. Reddy
    Centre of Excellence in Transportation Electrification and Energy Storage, Canada
  • Professor Mas Subramanian
    Oregon State University Department of Chemistry, United States
  • Dr. John T. Vaughey
    Argonne National Laboratory, United States
  • Professor Anthony West
    The University of Sheffield Department of Materials Science and Engineering, United Kingdom
  • Dr. M. Whangbo
    North Carolina State University Department of Chemistry, United States
  • Professor Xinhui Xia
    Zhejiang University School of Materials Science and Engineering, China
  • Prof. Dr. Dongfeng Xue
    Changchun Institute of Applied Chemistry Chinese Academy of Sciences, China
  • Dr. Haixue Yan
    Queen Mary University of London School of Engineering and Materials Science, United Kingdom
  • Professor Shuhong Yu
    University of Science and Technology of China School of Chemistry and Materials Science, China
  • Professor Yong Zhou
    Nanjing University, China