Surface Science Reports contains invited review papers on experimental and theoretical studies in the physics, chemistry and pioneering applications of surfaces, interfaces and nanostructures. It covers topics which contribute to a better understanding of basic phenomena occurring on surfaces and interfaces, but also the application of this knowledge to the development of materials, processes and devices. "Surfaces" is defined in this journal to include all interfaces between solids, liquids, polymers, biomaterials, nanostructures, soft matter, gases and/or vacuum. The journal also contains reviews of experimental techniques and methods used to characterize surfaces and surface processes, e.g. those based upon the interactions of photons, electrons and ions with surfaces.

Editorial board


  • Charles T. Campbell
    University of Washington Department of Chemistry, Bagley Hall, Box 351700, Seattle, 98195-1700, United States


  • Líney Árnadóttir PhD
    Oregon State University, School of Chemical, Biological and Environmental Engineering, Corvallis, Oregon, United States
  • Hendrik Bluhm
    Fritz Haber Institute of the MP Society, Berlin, Germany
  • Ulrike Diebold
    TU Wien University, Wien, Austria
  • Hajo Freund
    Fritz Haber Institute of the MP Society, Berlin, Germany
  • Jeffrey Greeley PhD
    Purdue University School of Chemical Engineering, Lafayette, Indiana, United States
  • Michael Janik PhD
    University of Pennsylvania Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
  • Geert Jan Kroes PhD
    Leiden University Institute of Chemistry, Leiden, Netherlands
  • Manos Mavrikakis PhD
    University of Wisconsin Madison, Madison, Wisconsin, United States
  • Carine Michel PhD
    Chemistry Laboratory, Lyon, France
  • Hiroshi Onishi
    Kobe University, Kobe, Japan
  • José Rodrigeuz PhD in physical chemistry
    Brookhaven National Laboratory Department of Chemistry, Upton, New York, United States
  • Petra Rudolf PhD
    University of Groningen Zernike Institute for Advanced Materials, Groningen, Netherlands
  • Steven L. Tait PhD
    Indiana University Bloomington Department of Chemistry, Bloomington, Indiana, United States
  • Junfa Zhu PhD
    National Synchrotron Radiation Laboratory, Hefei, Anhui, China